The Southern Gospel Notebook: November 1989

Happy Thursday.  I can’t believe its November.  Sorry for my hit and miss postings.  Life is busy, busy, busy at the moment.

I thought I would at least change the music on the sidebar.  How about we go into my Southern Gospel notebook.  As a kid, into my teen years, I wrote down my twenty favorite songs every month.

I started this in July 1982 and continued until December 1994.  Today’s post is a notebook entry from November 1989.  Enjoy!

**Music is on the sidebar as a playlist**

5 thoughts on “The Southern Gospel Notebook: November 1989

      1. Quite intriguing! I’d wondered why the cover showed Kim (in particular) in a different outfit, but never thought much of it.

        Is there an official reason why the 2 are different? I know the video was part of the Campbell’s Gospel Show in Bristol. Was the video an after-thought?

  1. I’ll say it again why are the songs progressively getting worse? What has changed? Right after a song I wrote came out in the 80s called Here Comes The Bride by the Sound, for some reason just like country music has become political influence replaced Heart felt anoitment. I don’t think I’m saying anything other ministers of music haven’t said.

    1. While the number of artists and the number of songs may have watered down the song quality, I think that the very best songs today can still hold their on with some of the best songs of the 70’s and 80’s. For example, I think “Here He Comes” by Joseph Habedank and “God of the Storms” by Tribute Quartet are just as good as the top 2 songs listed by Steve in this post. I think one thing that keeps the really good songs from being as memorable as songs of the past is how fast they run up and down the Singing News chart. Songs that stayed on the charts for months in the 70’s would now be lucky to stay 2 months on the chart, but I think that is more about the nature of the chart than about the quality of the songs. That’s just my opinion of course.

Leave a Reply

