NQC 2017: Wednesday/Thursday/Friday

Hello faithful readers.  Sorry, but life obligations kept me from watching tonight’s broadcast and I will also miss tomorrow night.  I will be back to close out the week on Saturday.

Please use this as an open thread to tell me all the hits and misses from Wednesday and Thursday night of the 2017 National Quartet Convention.

**This week has not turned out as I had expected. I am missing Friday’s program as well. Please fill me in on all this things I’ve missed this evening. I will be back to close out the week tomorrow.**

4 thoughts on “NQC 2017: Wednesday/Thursday/Friday

  1. I didn’t get to see all of the performances but from what I got to saw, the Second Half Quartet had the best set of the night

  2. The LeFevre Quartet has the best Thursday night set so far. Their bass vocalist is the closest to George Younce than anyone will ever get. I saw them last night and tonight and they brought the whole audience to their feet in a frenzy both evenings. My only critique is they have a top 10 tenor in their group and chose not to feature him. I thought he may have been under the weather but he sounded clear and strong. Other than this, they had the best 2 sets of the last 2 nights in my opinion. You also must hear the Mylon Hayes Family! Family harmony is beautiful.

  3. Thursday night was one of the best NQC performances I have ever seen. There were many groups that had amazing sets like the Nelons, Mark Trammell Quartet, Greater Vision, the Hoppers, the Booth Brothers, and of course the Gaither Vocal Band.

    Although this may be a little controversial, I’m going to declare a tie for best set of the night between the GVB and the Booth Brothers.

    Best performance: The King is Coming by Mark Trammell Quartet.

  4. Since no one mentioned the worst was the Inspirations set. Archie Watkins voice was scratchy and needed to be turned down. I think the best sets were The Hoppers, The Nelons, & The Taylors, The Talleys, & Lefevre Quartet. This was by far the best night of NQC this week. I think Inspirations set was too long and made them overall behind in the timing of the clock. Wednesday was meh.

Leave a Reply

