Walk Worthy: Master’s Voice


  • Album:  Walk Worthy
  • Artist:  Master’s Voice
  • Label:  Sonlite
  • Style:  Traditional, Progressive
  • Release Date:  07/14/17
  • Digital Download:  Yes (Apple Music)
  • Running Time:  44 Minutes


Vacation was fun.  It allowed me to relax and listen to Southern Gospel music.  This week we take a look at the new album from Master’s Voice, Walk Worthy.

Master’s Voice is a quartet based in Oklahoma.  Walk Worthy is the second quartet album from the group.  Both have been released by Crossroads on the Sonlite label.

The 2017 edition of Master’s Voice is Ricky Capps (tenor), TJ Evans (lead), Stan Watson (baritone), Jerry Pilgrim (bass) and Theron Perry (pianist).


  • The album kicks off with one of the strongest songs on the recording, “He Saw Me”.  Lead vocalist TJ Evans interprets the song perfectly.  This song needs to be at radio, pronto!
  • TJ is also featured on the album’s closing number, “Lift Up Your Hands When You Can’t”.  This is a progressive Southern Gospel ballad that left me wanting more.  A must listen!
  • Master’s Voice let listeners know they can sing traditional Southern Gospel quartet music with the best of them.  Jerry Salley and Dianne Wilkinson came together to pen the best traditional song on Walk Worthy; “Yes He Did, Yes He Does, Yes He Will”.  Love this song!
  • Baritone vocalist, Stan Watson is featured on the first radio single, “Where My Savior Is”.  Another great up-tempo number that is deserving of a listen.
  • Bass vocalist Jerry Pilgrim is able to show off on the jazzy style, “Another One Like Him”.
  • Master’s Voice also prove they can perform a classic hymn with simple accompaniment; allowing the vocals to shine.  Listen to “Burdens Are Lifted At Calvary”.
  • Mid South Boys was a favorite group of mine as a teen.  I was happy to hear Master’s Voice cover a Mid South song, “Without You I Haven’t Got A Prayer”.  They keep the arrangement country, making for an enjoyable listen.
  • Strongest songs included in order:  “He Saw Me”, “Lift Up Your Hands When You Can’t”, “Yes He Did, Yes He Was, Yes He Will”, “Where My Savior Is”, “Another One Like Him”, “Without You I Haven’t Got A Prayer”, “Burdens Are Lifted At Calvary” and “Love Goes A Mighty Long Way”.
  • The only downside is listeners may overlook Walk Worthy because they don’t know Master’s Voice.  Don’t be that person.  Get this album!!
  • Weakest songs included in order:  “More Than Enough” and “One Day Longer”.


My summer vacation was wonderful.  I listened to six Southern Gospel albums that will be reviewed over the next several weeks.  Walk Worthy was the best of those albums.  In fact, Walk Worthy is the best Southern Gospel quartet album of 2017 so far.  I thoroughly enjoyed listening to this album!!

SONG/Featured Vocalist – Songwriter:  1. “He Saw Me”/Ensemble; TJ – Phil Cross; Tony Jarman  2. “Another One Like Him“/Jerry – Marty Funderburk; Gina Vera  3. “Love Goes A Mighty Long Way“/TJ  – David Edwards, Joseph Habedank, Dianne Wilkinson  4. “One Day Longer”/Ricky – Steve Chapman, Joseph Habedank, Lindsey Williams  5. “Yes He Did, Yes He Does, Yes He Will”/Jerry; Ensemble; Stan – Jerry Salley, Dianne Wilkinson  6. “Without You I Haven’t Got A Prayer”/Stan – Peter Jeffries, Robby McGee, Jeffrey Rath  7. “More Than Enough”/Ricky – Dianne Wilkinson  8. “Sowing The Good Seed“/TJ – Jennifer Berens, Phil Cross  9. “Do What Jesus Did”/TJ – Rachel McCutcheon  10. “Burdens Are Lifted At Calvary”/Jerry; TJ; Ricky – John Moore  11. “Where My Savior Is”/Ensemble; Stan – Rachel McCutcheon  12. “Lift Up Your Hands When You Can’t”/TJ – Benji Cowart, Mark Schultz


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s