Another World: Southern Raised


  • Album – Another World
  • Artist – Southern Raised
  • Label – Stow Town Records
  • Style – Bluegrass
  • Release Date – 05/05/17
  • Available For Digital Download? – Yes (Apple Music)
  • Running Time:  48 Minutes


This week we take a look at the new album from Southern Raised, Another World.  This is the first album from the group released by Stow Town Records.

Southern Raised is a bluegrass ensemble.  Bluegrass gospel has had a place in Southern Gospel music as far back as the Lewis Family in the 1960s.  And one only need to look at the popularity of the Isaacs.

The Reith siblings, Lindsay (harmony vocals; fiddle/upright bass/resident songwriter), Sarah (lead/harmony vocals; banjo), Emily Grace (lead/harmony vocals; mandolin) and Matthew (harmony/bass vocals; acoustic guitar) make up Southern Raised.


  • Sarah’s alto vocals lend to the albums best songs.  The top track on Another World is the title track.  This bluegrass ballad would be a good choice for Southern Gospel radio.
  • The second is another soothing ballad, “Instead”.  I don’t think its a coincidence that both songs were written by Jeffrey Bumgardner, Wayne Haun and Lindsay Reith.
  • One thing bluegrass music gives listeners is those rousing up-tempo numbers where the instruments are running at full speed.  Southern Raised excels at their musicianship.  They are among the best bluegrass musicians in the music industry.
  • The stand out up-tempo track is the Mark Mathes penned, “The Miracle In Me”.  Mark is a noted Southern Gospel songwriter.  This would make a great choice for Southern Gospel radio.
  • The group has some fun on “When Jesus Came Down”.  Another Southern Gospel friendly song that allows Matthew to do a bit of bass singing.  Reminiscent of classic Chuck Wagon Gang.
  • Emily offers another must listen on the bluegrass ballad, “Letting Go”.
  • The family show their instrumental genius on “Beethoven’s 5th”.  This is bluegrass at its best.
  • Strongest songs included in order:  “Another World”, “Instead”, “The Miracle In Me”, “When Jesus Came Down”, “Letting Go”, “Beethoven’s 5th” and “Up All Night”.
  • A six and half-minute rendition of “I’d Rather Have Jesus” at the end of the recording is too much.  The entire album clocks in at 48 minutes. Yikes.
  • Weakest songs included in order:  “I’d Rather Have Jesus” and “Beautiful Moments In Time”.


Does one have to like bluegrass music to enjoy Another World by Southern Raised; probably.  One really only needs to enjoy genius musicianship coupled with angelic harmonies to give Another World a listen.

SONG/Featured Vocalist – Songwriter:  1. “Up All Night”/Emily – Wayne Haun, Joel Lindsey, Lindsay Reith  2. “Instead“/Sarah – Jeffrey Bumgardner, Wayne Haun, Emily Reith  3. “The Miracle In Me“/Emily – Mark Mathes  4. “Letting Go”/Emily – Wayne Haun, Joel Lindsey, Lindsay Reith  5. “That’s What Love Can Do”/Sarah – Jeffrey Bumgardner, Wayne Haun, Lindsay Reith  6. “Beautiful Moments In Time”/Matthew – Wayne Haun, Lindsay Reith  7. “Beethoven’s 5th”/Instrumental – Traditional  8. “Another World“/Sarah – Jeffrey Bumgardner, Wayne Haun, Lindsay Reith  9. “Wanna Be”/Emily – Wayne Haun, Lindsay Reith  10. “When Jesus Came Down”/Ensemble – Larry Joe Cousin, Rachel McCutcheon  11. “Like My Mother Does”/Sarah – Nathan Paul Chapman, Liz Rose, Nicole Williams  12. “I’d Rather Have Jesus”/Emily – George Beverly Shea, Rhea F Miller


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s