No Time To Quit: Michael Wayne Smith


  • Album – No Time To Quit
  • Artist – Michael Wayne Smith
  • Label – Custom
  • Style – Traditional, Progressive
  • Release Date – 11/18/16
  • Available For Digital Download? – Yes (Apple Music)
  • Running Time:  41 Minutes (without the second version of “How Great Thou Art”)


This week we take a look at the latest album from singer/songwriter Michael Wayne Smith; No Time To Quit.  Michael Wayne Smith is celebrating nine years in Southern Gospel music in 2017.

Michael’s first single to radio, “Everything’s Fine”, was an instant hit.  No Time To Quit marks the sixth album Michael has given Southern Gospel listeners.

The album has traditional Southern Gospel sounds with some progressive and slight country overtones throughout.  Michael has a soothing, tenor/lead range that allows him to compete with the best solo artists in Southern Gospel music.


  • The chilling musical arrangement fits the stand out track on No Time To Quit.  “Lead Me Lord” would make a great fit in your musical playlists.
  • Michael excels on the ballads.  His vocal conveys the lyric with conviction.  “Remind Me Of Your Grace” is another must listen.
  • Gerald Crabb penned a strong country flavored up-tempo number; “We Still Believe He Will”.  This would make a strong radio single.
  • As many songs that has had the title, “Jesus Saves”, Michael Wayne Smith pens another that definitely needs a listen.  This is the first single from the recording.  This is also the biggest production of any song on the album.
  • One final ballad that deserves a mention is “Lord I Thank You For The Valley”.  Michael penned a song that was a tremendous comfort for me six years ago; “Until The Storm Is Over”.  To this day, still one of my all time favorite songs.  “Lord I Thank You For The Valley” has a similar message.
  • Strongest songs included in order:  “Lead Me Lord”, “Remind Me Of Your Grace”, “We Still Believe He Will”, “Lord I Thank You For The Valley”, “Jesus Saves” and “You Are With Me”.
  • I don’t know why Michael chose to have two versions of “How Great Thou Art”.  The one where he sings with the violin solo throughout would have been fine.
  • The other up-tempo numbers on the album are a bit lackluster compared to the rest of the album.
  • Weakest songs included in order:  “How Great Thou Art” and “Been Changed”.


Solo artists are a tough sell in an industry dominated by groups.  That should be expected since harmony is the cornerstone of Southern Gospel music.  Michael Wayne Smith provides listeners with a distinctive vocal style and songs that make it easy to enjoy.

SONG (Style) – Songwriter:  1. “Jesus Saves” (Progressive) – Michael Wayne Smith  2. “You Are With Me” (Progressive) – Michael Wayne Smith  3. “We Still Believe He Will” (Country) – Gerald Crabb  4. “Lead Me Lord” (Traditional) – Michael Wayne Smith  5. “He’ll Be Holding Me” (Traditional) – Michael Wayne Smith  6. “Lord I Thank You For The Valley” (Traditional) – Michael Wayne Smith  7. “He Holds Everything” (Progressive) – Nathan Chapman, Jimmy Yeary  8. “Remind Me Of Your Grace” (Traditional) – Michael Wayne Smith   9. “Been Changed” (Traditional) – Michael Wayne Smith  10. “Lift High The Cross” (Traditional) – Lee Black, James Eric Myers, Sue C Smith  11. “How Great Thou Art” (Traditional) – Stuart Hine


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s