Southern Gospel’s Best Songs: Happy Goodmans

Last year I started a new series that highlights the ten best songs an artist recorded during their career.  We’ve seen lists for the Steeles, Anchormen, Downings, Down East Boys and Dixie Echoes.  Today, I wanted to look at the best songs recorded by the Happy Goodmans.

1.”Had It Not Been” (Rusty Goodman; Portrait Of Excitement, 1968)

2. “What A Beautiful Day” (Eddie Crook/Aaron Wilburn; Happy Goodman Family Hour, 1974)

3. “He Pilots My Ship” (Ronny Hinson; Leave Your Sorrows And Come Along, 1972)

4. “This Is What Heaven Means To Me” (Michael Summer; This Happy House, 1969)

5. “I Believe He’s Coming Back” (Rusty Goodman; Refreshing, 1978)

6. “When Morning Sweeps The Eastern Sky” (Oren Parris; Good N Happy, 1967)

7. “Who Am I” (Rusty Goodman; What A Happy Time, 1966)

8. “I Wouldn’t Take Nothing For My Journey Now” (Jimmie Davis/Rusty Goodman; The Best Of, 1964)

9. “How Much More” (Rusty Goodman; The Legendary Goodmans, 1973)

10. “I’m Too Near Home” (Charles Wycuff; I’m Too Near Home, 1963)

Leave a Reply

