Simply: Sisters

sisters2017simplyGRADE:  B+

  • Album – Simply
  • Artist – Sisters
  • Label – Custom
  • Style – Progressive, Inspirational, CCM
  • Release Date – 02/17/17
  • Available For Digital Download? – YES


This week we take a look at the new album from Sisters, Simply.  As a listener, I was wondering when Sisters was going to release a new album.  This is the first album from the trio since 2014’s, Atmosphere.

Simply picks up where Atmosphere left off, giving listeners a more CCM, inspirational sound/style.  The album is filled with reflective, soothing ballads.

As a Southern Gospel listener, don’t let that deter you from Simply.  There are several strong numbers that will find a home on Southern Gospel radio and in your musical playlists.


  • Heather (Ruppe Bennett) and Kim (Ruppe Sheffield) trade verses on the album’s stand out track, “It Was Finished On The Cross”.  Church choir members should already know this Regi Stone Easter song.  This happens to be the first radio single from Simply.  It could easily be a top ten hit!
  • The most Southern Gospel friendly song on Simply is the country flavored up-tempo number, “Another Day”.  This song will hearken listeners back to the Ruppe days in Southern Gospel.
  • Kim continues to prove why she is one of Southern Gospel’s greatest female vocalists.  Her performance on the reflective, worshipful ballad, “Still” deserves a listen.
  • Youngest sibling, Valerie (Ruppe Medkiff), is allowed to shine on the funky, mid-tempo, “So Smile”.
  • “A Day Will Come” starts with an exquisite 50 second musical opening that turns into an album highlight.  Valerie takes the lead on another song that could find a home at Southern Gospel radio.
  • Jeremy Medkiff and Gordon Mote joined with Sisters to produce this elegant, sophisticated arrangement recording that will impress the staunchest of listeners.
  • Strongest songs included in order:  “It Was Finished On The Cross”, “Another Day”, “Still”, “To Be Forgiven”, “A Day Will Come”, “So Smile” and “God Loves The Broken”.
  • From listening to the recording, you can tell Sisters was going for a reflective, ballad heavy recording.  Total listening time for the ten song recording clocks in just under 43 minutes.
  • The stylistic approach to Simply may not appeal to a portion of Southern Gospel listeners.
  • Weakest songs included in order:  “Soar” and “Never Too Broken”.


I have followed the music of the Ruppes since the early 1990’s.  The Ruppe siblings continue that tradition as Sisters.  As already mentioned, Simply is an exquisite, beautifully arranged piece of musical art.

SONG/Featured Vocalist – Songwriter:  1. “For You”/Kim – Jason Cox, Gordon Mote, Sue C Smith, Kenna West  2. “A Day Will Come“/Valerie – Lee Black, Sue C Smith, Kenna West  3. “Soar“/Kim – Meredith Andrews, Mia Fields, Seth Mosle  4. “It Was Finished On The Cross”/Heather; Kim – Kristie Braselton, Regi Stone  5. “God Loves The Broken”/Heather – Jeff Ferguson, Regi Stone  6. “So Smile”/Valerie – Lee Black, Ben Storie  7. “Still”/Kim – Igor Alexandre, Elena Veronica Haefeli, Tonra  8. “Another Day“/Kim – Lee Black, Michael Farren, Kenna West  9. “Never Too Broken”/Kim – Simon Hawkins, Michael Puryear, James Tealey  10. “To Be Forgiven”/Valerie – Michael Waddle


One thought on “Simply: Sisters

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s