Best Of 2016: #1

11th-hourThanks once again for indulging me and allowing me to present one of my favorite features of the year.  Today, crowns the best of the best; the #1 album and recorded Southern Gospel song of 2016.

When I first heard this album in February, I knew it would be hard pressed to find another recording to top its caliber.  As the year progressed, many great albums came along but none had quite enough to take the crown.

Ranked #1 as Southern Gospel’s best album of the year is 11th Hour’s, What A Moment.  11th Hour garnered Southern Gospel’s best vocal duo/trio by the readers of this blog as we celebrated the 3rd annual Southern Gospel Views from the Back Row honors. Congrats to 11th Hour on a phenomenal year and giving Southern Gospel music a phenomenal recording.

The (5) Best Songs From The Album:  (1) “He Welcomes The Beggar”, (2) “When God Shows Up”, (3) “Look At Me Now”, (4) “Love Still Holds Our Scars” and (5) “Can You Burn”.

tributeAfter 42 albums and 464 songs, the song ranked #1 among the best recorded Southern Gospel songs of 2016 is “When The Prodigal Comes Home”.

Lee Black has become one of Southern Gospel’s greatest songwriters and the readers of this blog confirmed that when you chose him best songwriter of 2016 in the 3rd annual Southern Gospel Views from the Back Row honors.

“When The Prodigal Comes Home” is his masterpiece brought to life by the vocal talent of Riley Harrison Clark and Tribute Quartet.

3 thoughts on “Best Of 2016: #1

  1. Wow, Steve! I am truly honored. Thanks so much for your kind words. You know… when I finished that song, I almost didn’t turn it in to my publisher. Now I’m glad I did.

  2. Good choices! “What A Moment” was not my favorite album of the year…Tribute’s “Here For You” was my top choice. “When the Prodigal Comes Home” is one of my favorite songs on my favorite album of the year!

    Thanks for the top 20 countdown! As usual, it was one of my favorite features of the entire year.

Leave a Reply

