Rambo Classics: Rambo McGuire

rambo-mcguireGRADE:  B

  • Album – Rambo Classics
  • Artist – Rambo McGuire
  • Label – Stow Town Records
  • Style – Traditional, Progressive
  • Release Date – 11/11/16
  • Available For Digital Download? – YES


Today we take a look at the new album from Rambo McGuire; Rambo Classics.  The album hit retail on Friday November 11th, 2016.

This album was actually recorded two years ago and released independently without much fan fare.  Stow Town decided to pick up the album for distribution, thus making it available to the masses.

The album was recorded prior to Buck Rambo’s passing allowing the listener to hear this legend one last time.  All 14 classics are new recordings by Reba, Dony and Destiny.


  • It was great hearing Reba and Buck, along with Destiny and Dony pay tribute to the great songs of the Rambos.
  • The one song on the recording written by Reba, “Precious Jesus”, is the stand out.  Destiny takes the second verse of this classic that should be considered for radio.
  • Destiny also takes the lead on the Dottie classic, “If That Isn’t Love”.  This song has been sung/recorded many times, but Destiny’s interpretation is a must listen.
  • A Rambo Classics album wouldn’t be complete without my all time favorite Dottie composition, “Tears Will Never Stain The Streets Of That City”.  Destiny, Buck and Reba turn in a strong cover of this song Buck and Reba have sung countless times.
  • I mentioned that this album was recorded prior to Buck Rambo’s passing.  He has the feature on another Dottie classic, “I’ve Never Been This Homesick Before”.
  • Dony, along with the rest of Rambo McGuire perform “In The Valley He Restoreth My Soul”; a performance that would make Dottie proud.
  • I can’t leave this review without mentioning “For What Earthly Reason”.  This was one of Dottie’s later compositions, penned in the late 1980’s.  Reba and Destiny trade verses on another must listen.
  • Strongest songs included in order:  “Precious Jesus”, “If That Isn’t Love”, “Tears Will Never Stain The Streets Of That City”, “In The Valley He Restoreth My Soul”, “I’ve Never Been This Homesick Before”, “For What Earthly Reason”, “There’s Nothing My God Can’t Do” and “The Holy Hills Of Heaven Call Me”.
  • One of these days I would love to hear Rambo McGuire record some new songs alongside the Rambo classics.
  • The album clocks in at 52 minutes, mostly filled with slower ballads.
  • Weakest songs included in order:  “One More Valley” and “On The Sunny Banks”.


If you love the music of Dottie Rambo and the Rambos, you will need to give Rambo Classics by Rambo McGuire a listen.  Knowing this is the final recording to feature hall of fame member Buck Rambo is enough to make it a must listen.

SONG/Featured Vocalist – Songwriter:  1. “Build My Mansion (Next Door To Jesus)”/Reba – Dottie Rambo  2. “If That Isn’t Love“/Destiny – Dottie Rambo  3. “I’ve Never Been This Homesick Before“/Buck – Dottie Rambo  4. “Sheltered In The Arms Of God”/Reba – Jimmie Davis, Dottie Rambo  5. “The Holy Hills Of Heaven Call Me”/Ensemble; Buck – Dottie Rambo  6. “I Go To The Rock”/Destiny – Dottie Rambo  7. “For What Earthly Reason”/Reba; Destiny – Dottie Rambo  8. “On The Sunny Banks“/Dony – Dottie Rambo  9. “There’s Nothing My God Can’t Do”/Ensemble; Reba – Jimmie Davis, Dottie Rambo  10. “One More Valley”/Buck – Jimmie Davis, Dottie Rambo  11. “In The Valley He Restoreth My Soul”/Ensemble; Dony – Dottie Rambo  12. “Precious Jesus”/Ensemble; Destiny – Reba Rambo McGuire  13. “Tears Will Never Stain The Streets Of That City”/Destiny; Buck; Reba – Dottie Rambo  14. “He Looked Beyond My Fault”/Buck – Dottie Rambo


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s