Something Worth Saving: McKameys

mckameysGRADE:  B-

  • Album – Something Worth Saving
  • Artist – McKameys
  • Label – Horizon Records
  • Style – Traditional, Appalachian
  • Release Date – 06/10/16
  • Available For Digital Download? – Yes (Apple Music)


The McKameys have become a steadfast institution in Southern Gospel music.  Their Appalachian style and presentation has endeared Southern Gospel audiences now for over 50 years.

The group makes it an effort to get a new album out to McKamey fans every year.  2016 finds their newest effort, Something Worth Saving.

That steadfast style/presentation has not changed during the group’s career and listeners will get exactly that on Something Worth Saving.


  • Connie picks up where she left off on the group’s last effort, What If by providing listeners the best moments on Something Worth Saving.
  • That starts with the Leigh Parsons Sexton tune, “Bring You Glory”.  The musical accompaniment (opening piano score) is different from the majority of McKamey songs.  Connie conveys the song perfectly.
  • She is also featured on the Rebecca Peck/Dianne Wilkinson collab; “Days Gone By”.  This is traditional Southern Gospel at its best.  This would make a strong choice for Southern Gospel radio.
  • The first single from the recording features Sheryl, who also penned, “That’s Why There’s A Cross”.  The message of the cross and the blood will never get old with Southern Gospel listening audiences.  This song, another reminder of His ultimate sacrifice.
  • Peg takes the lead on the up-tempo, “I’ve Been In The Book”.  This toe tapper can also be credited to Peck/Wilkinson.  These two have been working together a lot lately to craft some stellar songs for Southern Gospel artists.
  • Roger Fortner has found a home on McKamey albums recently.  His contribution to Something Worth Saving is the Rodney Birch penned, “A Few Things”.  This acoustical bluegrass flavored tune is worth a listen.
  • I also enjoyed the album’s closing number, “Come To My Rescue”.  A Southern Gospel song of praise
  • Strongest songs included in order:  “Bring You Glory”, “That’s Why There’s A Cross”, “Days Gone By”, “Come To My Rescue”, “I’ve Been In The Book” and “A Few Things”.
  • If you weren’t a fan of the McKameys music prior to Something Worth Saving, this album is not going to change that.
  • I could have used at least two more up-tempo numbers to offset all of the slower to mid-tempo songs.
  • Weakest songs included in order:  “Back To Bethel” and “I Believe”.


The McKameys long and storied recording career continues with Something Worth Saving.  The McKameys are at a point in their career where they provide their fan base exactly what they’ve come to expect.  If the group happens to pick up some new listeners as a result, then they are all the better for it.

SONG/Featured Vocalist – Songwriter:  1. “Christ Is Able”/Ensemble; Sheryl – Mike Harland, Tommy Walker  2. “I’ve Been In The Book“/Peg – Rebecca Peck, Dianne Wilkinson  3. “Bring You Glory”/Connie – Leigh Parsons Sexton  4. “I Believe”/Eli – Sheryl Farris  5. “That’s Why There’s A Cross”/Sheryl – Sheryl Farris  6. “A Few Things”/Roger – Rodney Birch  7. “Back To Bethel”/Peg – Larry Whitehead  8. “Days Gone By“/Connie – Rebecca Peck, Dianne Wilkinson  9. “Something Worth Saving”/Ruben – Larry Whitehead  10. “Come To My Rescue”/Sheryl – Sheryl Farris

*Video Credit (The McKameys – Topic)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s