Least Remarkable Song Series – #8

The least remarkable song series continues today with the song ranked 8th.  As a kid, I remember hearing a song titled “Wrapped Up, Tied Up, Tangled Up”.

I didn’t quite understand the lyrics at the time and all I could picture was someone literally being wrapped and tied up.  That really didn’t sound fun to me, so I tried to avoid the song anytime it came on.

As I got older and heard the song again, I then understood what the song was attempting to convey.  Born out of the pentecostal/holiness camp; the version I remember is credited to Nancy Harmon.  There was also a traditional Gospel spiritual, penned by the Rev. Cleophus Robinson with the same title that birthed the version I remember as a kid.

It is hard for me to listen to this song now without my five-year old mind thinking the song meant something totally different.

*Video Credit (Southern Gospel Views from the Back Row)

4 thoughts on “Least Remarkable Song Series – #8

  1. I always enjoyed the song and thought Nancy Harmon wrote it. But I first heard it as a late teen or early 20s guy, so I didn’t think of literally being tied up or anything like that. It’s the kind of song that makes me want to get up and dance. In a similar vein, but a slower song, Dottie Rambo wrote a song entitled “Prisoner of Love,” which talks about being a “slave to the master.” Dottie was very much a pioneer of civil rights in the Christian community, so you have to take a song like that in its entire context to derive its meaning. But I can understand how you, as a five year old boy, might have not understood the lyrics of “Wrapped Up, Tied Up, Tangled Up in Jesus.”

  2. You need to check out Mike Farris’ rendition of this song. It rocks your soul. I recall listening to the Rev’s version in 30+ years ago. Mike has more SOUL than any white man I have ever heard.

Leave a Reply

