What Are You Doing?

kdp-free-promotionThe majority of those living in the Eastern United States are enjoying a snow day today.  It is a perfect day to stay inside and catch up on all things Southern Gospel.

After Monday’s post on new artists throwing away money to try to get a song charted, I received a scathing email from someone who I can assume makes a living swindling new artists out of money, just so the naive new artist can say our song is at #75 on the charts this month; ain’t that great.

In all seriousness, I’m not saying any sort of promotion of a new group is bad, I was bringing up the point of what is the best way for new artists to utilize their limited cash resources in the most effective ways, so as many listeners as possible can hear their music.

Said email mentioned that I really didn’t know what I was talking about; that it was easy for me to spout off things from behind a keyboard.  I chuckled at most of what was said, but the one thing that I did take away from the email was when they asked, “What are you doing?”

So, the last couple of days I have been thinking about that very thing and I came up with something that I can do with this blog/platform to help new artists become visible to more listeners.  While I understand my reach (viewership) is limited to other forms of online media; one thing you can be assured that anyone who stops by this site on a daily basis is here because they enjoy Southern Gospel music.

So, here is what I am going to do.  I am opening up my blog for one post a week to offer free promotion of a new Southern Gospel artist to promote their group/music.  If you are a newer Southern Gospel artist that fall anywhere on the Southern Gospel musical spectrum and you want a chance at free promotion of your music, please email me at sogospelbackrow@gmail.com.

 

One thought on “What Are You Doing?

Leave a Reply

