Least Remarkable Song Series – #10

michaelcombs2005goingfishingmaxNow that we are in the new year, it is time to get back to some regular features.  At the end of 2015, I started a list of what I consider to be the least remarkable songs in the history of Southern Gospel music.

We are down to the final ten.  Landing at #10 among the least remarkable is a song written/performed by Michael Combs.  Michael burst on the Southern Gospel scene in the mid 1990’s with his raspy voice and exuberant personality.  He won crowds over and became a fan favorite.

In 2005, Michael released an album titled, Going Fishing.  The title track, “Going Fishing”, happens to be the song ranked 10th among the least remarkable in Southern Gospel music.  The way being a fisher of men is presented in this song, I found to be a bit crass.

One thought on “Least Remarkable Song Series – #10

  1. This category is one of the ones I like the least. Trying to analyze why I feel this way. I remember my parents telling me, “If you can’t say something good, say nothing at all.”
    This artist hasn’t ever been a favorite, but I doubt I could single him out this way (or this particular song)…..many groups put “fillers” on their projects. Sometimes it’s hard to find enough “Good” songs to fill all the slots.
    My decision is to not read the posts from you in this category.
    Hope you are having a good start to your new year!

Leave a Reply

