After All This Time: Talleys

talleys2015allthistimeGRADE:  B

  • Album – After All This Time
  • Artist – Talleys
  • Label – Horizon Records
  • Style – Traditional, Progressive
  • Release Date – 12/11/15
  • Available For Digital Download? – Yes (Apple Music/Spotify)


The Talleys have been a mainstay in Southern Gospel music going on 33 years.  They have been providing progressive Southern Gospel music to listeners since the beginning.

They close out 2015 by providing another in a lost list of quality Southern Gospel music recordings.  Since the Talleys return in 1996, they have spent their entire recording career with Crossroads (Horizon/Parable Records).

After All This Time doesn’t tackle any new ground musically for the Talleys, instead staying consistent with the sound they have been providing listeners since their inception.


  • I love a good up tempo Southern Gospel song.  The best on After All This Time is “My Hope Is In The Lord”.  The Talleys had a hit single with a song from their 2008 album, Life Goes On, with the same title.  This song, though, is not the same.  This would definitely make a strong choice for radio single possibilities.
  • Lauren has several stand out songs on After All This Time.  At the top of the list is “There Is Coming A Day”.  This song of triumph reminds the listener of what is to come for those who have a personal relationship with Christ.
  • While it is nice to hear groups cover classic songs from other artists, I particularly enjoy when an artist goes back and pulls a classic from their own catalog.  The Talleys go back to their debut Canaan Records album (Wherever I Am, 1984) to cover the hit single, “Naaman”.  I remember listening to this song as a kid and enjoyed hearing it again.
  • The Talleys record two songs with similar messages about understanding that everybody you come in contact with on a daily basis is living/dealing with something.  Trying to meet somebody where they’re at in life can sometimes be difficult, but is also necessary.  The two songs happen to fall back to back on the recording.  “Somebody’s Story” conveys the message the best of the two.  It is interesting the record company chose the second to send to radio, which I’ll talk about in the critique section.
  • The album’s opening track sets the pace for the rest of the album.  Give “After All This Time” a listen.  I’ll think you’ll agree.
  • I shouldn’t leave a Talleys review without mentioning Debra.  Her strongest feature on the new album is “This Thing Called Grace”.  I am not surprised this song is from the pens of Rebecca Peck and Dianne Wilkinson.
  • As one would expect, the production and overall song selection for After All This Time is top of the line.
  • Strongest songs included in order:  “There Is Coming A Day”, “My Hope Is In The Lord”, “This Thing Called Grace”, “Naaman”, “After All This Time”, “Somebody’s Story” and “Jesus’ Blood Is Enough”.
  • I mentioned two songs that conveyed the same message of understanding the people you come in contact with on a daily basis.  I mentioned “Somebody’s Story” conveyed the message the best.  The other is a song the record company chose as the first single; “The People In The Line”.  I don’t dislike the song, but having both back to back, it’s as if the listeners are being asked to choose which of the two songs are better.
  • From an artistic stand point, I tend to have a problem when a songwriter takes a melody already written by a composer and slaps new words to them.  Gloria Gaither used the melody to “Aura Lee”, a song published in 1861 to pen “But I Need You More”.  But Gloria wasn’t the first to use this melody.  Many will remember the melody from Elvis Presley’s re-write of “Aura Lee”, when he recorded “Love Me Tender”.
  • Weakest songs included in order:  “But I Need You More” and “I Love To Tell The Story/Blessed Assurance”.


Consistency is a term used in abundance as it relates to Southern Gospel music.  The majority of established artists in Southern Gospel music doesn’t stray from the musical style they started their careers.  Southern Gospel listeners tend to overwhelmingly support that consistency.  If the Talleys is an artist filling up your musical playlists, then you will want to add After All This Time to the mix when it release on December 11th.

SONG/Featured Vocalist – Songwriter:  1. “After All This Time”/Debra; Ensemble – Lee Black, Kenna West, Tony Wood  2. “There Is Coming A Day“/Lauren – Jason Cox, Sue C Smith, Kenna West  3. “There’s Never Been A Mountain”/Ensemble – Niles Borop, John D Rowsey, John Starnes  4. “This Thing Called Grace”/Debra – Rebecca Peck, Dianne Wilkinson  5. “Naaman”/Lauren – Eleanor A Wright  6. “Jesus’ Blood Is Enough”/Lauren – Chuck Butler, Adam Palmer, Tony Wood  7. “My Hope Is In The Lord”/Ensemble – Dean Hickman, John D Rowsey  8. “But I Need You More”/Debra – Gloria Gaither, Traditional Melody  9. “The People In The Line”/Lauren – Lee Black, Joyce DeBoard, Sue C Smith  10. “Somebody’s Story”/Roger – Lee Black, Dixie Phillips, Sue C Smith  11. “Who But God”/Lauren – Ronny Hinson, Mike Payne  12. “I Love To Tell The Story/Blessed Assurance”/Lauren – Fanny Crosby, William G Fischer, Arbella C Hankey, Phoebe Knapp

One thought on “After All This Time: Talleys

  1. I noticed the 2 songs back to back with the same message immediately and wondered why they would choose to do that, but I personally prefer The People in the Line to Somebody’s Story. It draws me back to listen again and again.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s