A New Look: Kingdom Heirs

kingdomheirs2015newlookGRADE:  B+

  • Album – A New Look
  • Artist – Kingdom Heirs
  • Label – Sonlite Records
  • Style – Traditional
  • Release Date – 10/02/15
  • Available For Digital Download? – Yes (Apple Music/Spotify)


The Kingdom Heirs used to be one of those groups to release a new album every year.  This current market no longer fits that model.  It has been two years since the last album of new music from the group.

2015 finds the release of A New Look; an eleven song collection of new music.  This is the first Kingdom Heirs recording without Steve French and the first to feature Brian Alvey.

In terms of style, the group doesn’t stray from the musical formula that Southern Gospel listeners have come to recognize and expect.


  • A New Look excels at providing some strong Southern Gospel ballads.  You get one each from Arthur, Brian and Jerry.
  • I can’t decide which is the strongest.  They are all equally good.  Arthur is featured on “Power In Those Bones”.  Arthur has been known in the past for his strong held out vocals.  It is nice that he just takes “Power In Those Bones” and doesn’t add those extra vocal acrobatics.
  • Newest vocalist, Brian Alvey is featured on “Never Made A Promise”.  You know, God never made a promise he didn’t keep.
  • Speaking of Brian, he gets to show out on a song he recorded in the brief time he was with the Talleys; “The Church Will Overcome”.  A great closing song for the album.
  • Jerry Martin’s feature is a Dennis Murphy penned tune, “Pieces”.  While you can hear the wear in Jerry’s voice from the daily shows at Dollywood, he is still able to convey this strong message.
  • I enjoyed the country, almost Tennessee Ernie Ford, treatment given to “The Chain Gang”.  Jeff Chapman totally nails this fun song which has also been chosen as the first single from the album.
  • As far as up-tempo numbers, the best has got to be “God’s Gonna Do More”.  The instrumentation given this song sounds reminiscent to many of the great Southern Gospel tunes that came out of the 1970’s.
  • Strongest songs included in order:  “God’s Gonna Do More”, “Never Made A Promise”, “Power In Those Bones”, “The Chain Gang”, “The Church Will Overcome”, “Pieces” and “As Many Times”.
  • There was only one song that didn’t match the caliber of the rest of the album; “Pass The Torch”.
  • Weakest songs included in order:  “Pass The Torch”.


The Kingdom Heirs have consistently provided Southern Gospel listeners with quality, traditional Southern Gospel quartet music.  A New Look lives up to this standard and will undoubtedly provide the group a couple more chart topping hits.

SONG/Featured Vocalist – Songwriter:  1. “A New Look”/Ensemble – Rebecca J Peck, Dianne Wilkinson  2. “Power In Those Bones“/Arthur – Arthur Rice, Dianne Wilkinson  3. “More Like Jesus”/Ensemble; Arthur – Dennis Murphy  4. “The Chain Gang”/Jeff; Ensemble – Mark Bishop  5. “As Many Times”/Ensemble – Rodney Griffin  6. “Pieces”/Jerry – Dennis Murphy  7. “Saving Us A Place In The Choir”/Ensemble; Jeff – Rebecca Peck, Dianne Wilkinson  8. “Never Made A Promise”/Brian – Lee Black, Sue C Smith, Kenna Turner West  9. “God’s Gonna Do More”/Jerry – Barbi Franklin, Terry Franklin  10. “Pass The Torch”/Arthur – Jeff Collins, Sandy Knight  11. “The Church Will Overcome”/Brian – Dianne Wilkinson

*Video Credit (#KingdomHeirs)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s