Smack Down!! – “Greatest Of All Miracles”

Jim Brady TrioOne of the most popular features of my blog when I first started was my smack down feature.  I thought it would be time to get back to that.  Artists are always covering songs from prior decades to keep this feature alive for years.

I made a bold statement in my review of the Jim Brady Trio’s, A New Chapter, recording last week that their cover of Squire Parsons classic, “The Greatest Of All Miracles” was one of the best I’ve heard.  Let’s put that to the test.  In this week’s smack down feature, I will pit the Jim Brady Trio’s cover of “The Greatest Of All Miracles” against Gold City’s original cut.  You decide which is better.

  • Artist – Jim Brady Trio
  • Album – A New Chapter
  • Release Year – 2015
  • Featured Vocalist – Melissa Brady

vs

  • goldcity1983readitagain150Artist – Gold City
  • Album – I Think I’ll Read It Again
  • Release Year – 1983
  • Featured Vocalist – Brian Free
One thought on “Smack Down!! – “Greatest Of All Miracles”

  1. I have always loved the GC version. The one I came to love is on the Double Take live in Charleston album. I was curious to hear the JBT version. I will say that Melissa done an outstanding job on it. While it is heard to beat Brian Free at any of his songs, I think she does her own version extremely well. Especially the tag, she takes the melody up an octave, WOW!

Leave a Reply

