A New Chapter: Jim Brady Trio

Jim Brady TrioGRADE:  B

  • Album – A New Chapter
  • Artist – Jim Brady Trio
  • Label – Daywind Records
  • Style – Progressive, Traditional
  • Release Date – 01/27/15
  • Available For Digital Download? – Yes (iTunes)


Now that I am trying to get back to a regular blogging schedule, I wanted to take a look at what albums I need to review.  In looking back I can’t believe I forgot to review the debut album from the Jim Brady Trio; an album that has been out since January.

So I am fixing that now by providing this review of the Jim Brady Trio’s, A New Chapter.  The Jim Brady Trio is composed of Jim, his wife Melissa and Tim Parton.  From the first note, you can hear Tim Parton’s arranging genius all over the recording.

The trio decided to release an album of several new songs and quite a few covers.


  • It was a cover of Squire Parsons classic, “Greatest Of All Miracles” that stood above any other song on the recording.  Melissa turns in a power house performance in one of the best versions of the song I’ve heard.  A must listen!
  • The trio follows it up with their first radio single, “Steppin’ Out In Faith”.  This is hands down, the best new song on the recording.  A nice up-tempo song to introduce your group to Southern Gospel listeners.  Tim Parton’s arranging is evident on this particular number.
  • Speaking of Tim, he does get a couple features on A New Chapter.  His strongest is a cover of a song Jim recorded when with the Booth Brothers; “When He Saved Me”.  I always liked this song and surprised the Booth Brothers never released it as a single.  Now the Jim Brady Trio should take this song to radio.
  • Another up-tempo cover that the group did an awesome job on was “The Half That’s Never Been Told”.  Again, many listeners will remember the original cut of this song by the Booth Brothers.
  • Tim’s arranging expertise is also strong with the album’s opening track; “God Of What’s To Come”.  Tim spent time with the Lesters and Speers during the late ’80’s/early ’90’s.  The style those artists were giving listeners during that time is evident in the style generated by the Jim Brady Trio on A New Chapter.
  • Strongest songs included in order:  “Greatest Of All Miracles”, “Steppin’ Out In Faith”, “When He Saved Me”, “The Half That’s Never Been Told”, “God Of What’s To Come” and “That Sounds Like Home To Me”.
  • I was surprised at the total number of song covers for a debut album.  This is your introduction to the Southern Gospel listening audience.  Seven of the twelve songs on A New Chapter were covers.
  • In this case though it was the covers that propped up the weaker new songs found on A New Chapter.
  • Weakest songs included in order:  “Ordinary Love” and “You Can Depend On Jesus”.


Jim Brady Trio’s debut album, A New Chapter, was a mixed bag of really strong moments and some misses.  With that said, this group is still far ahead most new groups in Southern Gospel music in terms of song selection, production and arranging.  They will be the top new group of 2015, no doubt.

SONG/Featured Vocalist – Songwriter:  1. “God Of What’s To Come”/Jim – Jim Brady, Melissa Brady, Tony Wood  2. “You Can Depend On Jesus“/Ensemble – Randy Phillips  3. “Greatest Of All Miracles”/Melissa – Squire Parsons  4. “Steppin’ Out In Faith”/Ensemble; Tim; Jim – Jim Brady, Melissa Brady  5. “On My Way Home”/Jim – Jim Brady  6. “Good Lord Willing”/Ensemble – Jim Brady, Barry Weeks, Tony Wood  7. “The Love Of God”/Ensemble – PD  8. “When He Saved Me”/Tim – Jim Brady, Phil Cross  9. “Ordinary Love”/Melissa – Melissa Brady, Sue C Smith  10. “If It Had Not Been”/Ensemble – PD  11. “The Half That’s Never Been Told”/Ensemble – Jim Brady, Rodney Griffin  12. “That Sounds Like Home To Me”/Jim – Eddie Crook, Aaron Wilburn

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s