Small Town: Jeff & Sheri Easter

Small-Town250GRADE:  B

  • Album – Small Town
  • Artist – Jeff & Sheri Easter
  • Label – Custom
  • Style – Country, Modern Country
  • Release Date – 06/23/15
  • Available For Digital Download? – Yes (iTunes/Spotify)


Jeff and Sheri Easter are approaching 30 years as a group.  During the length of their career they have provided Southern Gospel listeners with a country/bluegrass and now modern country-style that hasn’t wavered.

2015 finds the release of a 30th anniversary album of new music; Small Town.  This is the first album of new music from the group since 2012’s Eyes Wide Open.

The family vocal unit consists of Jeff, Sheri and daughter Morgan.  Sheri has also come into her own as a songwriter, contributing to five songs on Small Town.


  • Sheri has always had a way of conveying a song directly at the listener.  Such is the case with the group’s first single from the recording, “Jesus Loves You”.  Everyone has those days or even extended periods in their life where they need to be reminded someone love’s them for who they are.  The greatest love is that of Jesus.  As the song says, I am also here to remind you that “Jesus Loves You”!
  • Sheri knocks it out of the park on “Hallelujah Coming From The Valley”.  Radio should get used to Sheri’s vocal because I believe every radio single from this album could be Sheri features.
  • Another Sheri feature is the album’s opening track (and another stand out), “Small Town Someone”.  The album and style of the group convey’s that small town America vibe.  “Small Town Someone” conveys the story of the kid with the loaves and fishes and portrays him as a small town boy who was able to give so much to so many even though he didn’t realize what he had would help so many.
  • That small town America vibe continues with the country-style love song, “The Light”.  The first verse conveys the story of young love and that first kiss at the stop light and the song goes on to talk about the light that can save a life.
  • Even though Madison and wife Shannon no longer travel with the group, Madison and Jeff trade verses on the album’s closing track, “My Wave”.  A song conveying the message of getting the most out of this life and getting to the end with no regrets.
  • Jeff’s strongest feature is on the song “This Side Of The Dirt”.  We are given one mortal life on this earth, we need to make the most of what we are given.
  • Morgan’s strongest feature is the song, “Someone’s Listening”.  This song follows the style Morgan gave listeners on her solo album.
  • Strongest songs included in order:  “Jesus Loves You”, “Hallelujah Coming From The Valley”, “Small Town Someone (Lunch)”, “My Wave”, “More Than Enough”, “This Side Of The Dirt” and “The Light”.
  • I wish the listener would have been given at least one Jeff and Sheri Easter ‘barn burner’.  Every song on Small Town is in the mid to slow tempo range.
  • Weakest songs included in order:  “I Love You”.


Jeff and Sheri Easter have given Southern Gospel listeners nearly 30 years of musical consistency.  Small Town continues that trend.  While the recording doesn’t quite match the caliber of their last two recordings (Eyes Wide Open, 2012 and Expecting Good Things, 2009), there are enough strong musical moments (especially from Sheri) to keep listeners happy until the next album release.

SONG/Featured Vocalist – Songwriter:  1. “Small Town Someone (Lunch)”/Sheri – Jason Cox, Sheri Easter, Kenna Turner West  2. “This Side Of The Dirt“/Jeff – Jason Cox, Sue C Smith, Kenna Turner West  3. “Someone’s Listening”/Morgan – Jessi Alexander, Connie Harrington  4. “Jesus Loves You”/Sheri – Sheri Easter, Don Poythress, Kenna Turner West  5. “The Light”/Jeff; Sheri – Jeff Easter, Sheri Easter, Bradley Gaskin  6. “More Than Enough”/Sheri – Jason Cox, Sheri Easter, Kenna Turner West  7. “Like You’re Still Here”/Jeff – Tom Botkins, Jon Henderson, Mo Pitney  8. “When The Harvest Comes”/Morgan – Lee Black, Sheri Easter, Kenna Turner West  9. “I Love You”/Jeff; Sheri – Edd Easter, James Easter, Russell Easter  10. “Hallelujah Coming From The Valley”/Sheri – Steve Chapman, Jeff Pearles  11. “My Wave”/Madison; Jeff – Ben Hayslip, Jimmy Yeary

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s