And…..We’re Back

MentalI first want to thank everyone for the kind words over the last week.  I have received many emails asking about my health and I thought I would share with my readers what I have been experiencing.

Four years ago I landed in the hospital while on vacation, not really knowing what was wrong.  After many tests and the doctors ruling out anything physically wrong with me, I was given the diagnosis of clinical depression (this after many months of tests once I got home).

The idea of mental illness is still a stigma in American society and especially in the Christian community.  I was told on more than one occasion by ‘well meaning’ Christian folk that I can’t be depressed if I am a child of God.  I could be relieved if I would just pray it away.

Folks, I am here to tell you that clinical depression is not something you can just pray away.  Don’t get me wrong, if the Lord in his infinite wisdom saw fit to heal my condition, I would welcome it.  The brain is a part of our body like any other organ that allows us to live.  It would make sense that the brain can also get sick.

So, after three years of highs and lows, on and off medications; last year I was ultimately given the diagnosis of bi-polar disorder.  I received a new round of meds and was well on my way.  In January of this year I was feeling so good that I decided to go off of my medication.  Sunday, a week ago I had another major crash and landed back at the doctor to re-start my medication.

Today, was the first day that I felt like writing again and I am starting to feel like myself once again.  I want to let anyone else out there that may be suffering from any form of mental illness that you are not alone.  Don’t be bullied, if you’re in the Christian community, to not seek medical help if you need it.  It may just save your life.

With that said, I am slowly getting back to doing things that I enjoy, this blog being one of those.  Thanks for sticking around and again all the kind words over the last week has been comforting.

4 thoughts on “And…..We’re Back

  1. Glad to see you back Steve! I really miss reading your blog…it is still my favorite SG blog! Thanks for sharing your story…Hopefully it will help others to realize that Christians need help too. God bless you!

  2. Welcome back Steve! So glad to hear that you’re having a “good day”. I can honestly say I have been there too. While my diagnoisis is a little different than yours I can totally relate with a mental disorder. Chonda Pierce has a great bit about mental illness and the church community. Her quote of saying “The next time someone tells you to stop taking your medication because you can pray it away and have the faith to do it without it. Then you look at them and tell them to drive home without their glasses.” That helped me immensely!

    Praying for you that your good days outnumber your bad, and that you continue to do what it is you enjoy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

