Politics In Southern Gospel Music

demDONKEYIn the second of my hard-hitting commentary series is something I debated doing because of the polarizing nature of the topic.  But, as I thought about it, I realized this topic does not really discuss politics more than the use of politics by Southern Gospel music artists from the stage.

I know there have been discussions about this in the past, but with another election year just around the corner I figured now is as good a time as any to discuss.  I can already hear sound bites from certain Southern Gospel artists, come next year, regarding certain hot button topic political issues.

RepElephantWhy does a Southern Gospel artist think that everyone attending that specific concert has the same political ideology as they do?  Do they think they are going to win someone over because they interrupt the music (the whole purpose individuals came to the concert) to spout off how bad America has become (at least in their eyes)?

I know when I go to a musical concert, I want to hear music.  There is a reason I paid money for a ticket, and it is not to attend a political rally.  In a land where we are free to express our views on the myriad of different issues that makes us who we are; should those views be given at a music concert where the individuals paid money to hear music?

Libertarian_Party.svgThere are already several Southern Gospel artists I have cut off from attending their concerts because of their need to push politics from the stage.

What say ye?  Do you think it is ok for Southern Gospel artists to bring politics to a Southern Gospel music concert?

**Disclaimer**

Please do not turn this into a conservative vs. liberal political discussion in the comments section.  This post is strictly asking if you think Southern Gospel music artists should bring politics on to the concert stage.

8 thoughts on “Politics In Southern Gospel Music

  1. People push politics because they feel they are a ministry and they need to minister. I really don’t want to hear your politics or your preaching. I consider SG clean entertainment. I go to church to be ministered to and I go other places for politics. Just entertain me…that’s what I pay SG performers to do…

  2. I agree that politics should not be a part of the concert experience. However, I would probably not elect to attend a Christian concert with emphasis on entertainment only with no ministry to reach the lost or improve the spiritual life of the Christian. I believe songs should be scripturally-accurate and relevant to life, so I prefer songs that provide ministry and “touch the heart.” I fully agree with the sentiment that we go to a concert to hear music and singing, not dialog and preaching, except in short context to introduce the songs.

  3. maybe its the wrong way to look at things, but I think that many times its a false front to get the audience to react. The majority of the crowds SG will play for are conservative, republican, fox news, and america loving Christians (not that there is anything wrong with any of those…i fit in those categories). However, how many times in a concert has there been the group who does the song about America and everyone stands and sheds a tear. What’s the reaction: the audience gives an ovation, says how spiritual/ministering the group is, gives good in the offering and starts buying product.

    Now do i think the groups who will give a political “speech” are making it up….not at all. I do though think they know what the audience wants to hear.

    1. It is funny you say that. I always thought what the large Canadian crowds that come to an event like NQC think when artists start singing a song about ‘Merica to get a rise out of the crowd. Do they stand to be polite and not want others around them to think badly of them or do they just sit there knowing they are not American.

      Any Canadian Southern Gospel fan on here that can answer that question for me.

  4. I’d rather not hear “politics” from the stage, but there are appropriate Biblical topics that just happen to also be in the political discourse of the day.

    Any singing or talking that deals with the Word of God is well within bounds, no matter what my expectation is. I’ve never gone to a concert thinking about what I deserve to hear because of what I paid.

  5. I’m probably less patriotic than I should be, but it kills me when a patriotic song is performed and suddenly everyone is extra-spiritual about being an American, but they didn’t respond with much enthusiasm at all to the songs about Jesus other than a polite hand-clap or subtle “amen”. I get that a lot of the concert-goers are of aging population and in my area a great many are veterans, so they still have that kind of patriotic indoctrination ingrained in their psyche.

    And, to remain on topic, I feel the same about political statements. The same thing happens in our church. If the preacher mentions a hot-button political topic, I will hear people who never really say anything during the normal preaching (amens and such) respond fervently. I just really don’t like politics (on either side of the coin), and really don’t like it in church or concerts.

  6. I don’t mind as long as they agree with me, just kidding, I’d rather keep politics out of any concert I attend. I don’t mind a little preachamony , though, if they know when to knock it off and get to singing!!!

Leave a Reply

