Into His Presence – Perrys

perrys2014intohispresenceGRADE:  B+

  • Album – Into His Presence
  • Artist – Perrys
  • Label – StowTown Records
  • Style – Traditional
  • Release Date – 04/08/14
  • Available For Digital Download? – Yes (iTunes/Spotify)



The Perrys have released their first new album in a year and a half and the first since Tracy’s stroke.  This is also the first effort for Stow Town Records.

Into His Presence is also the first album to feature new lead vocalist David Ragan.  The listeners are also treated to a very special duet with Jared (his first on a Perry’s album) and Tracy.

The album sticks to the formula that has made the Perrys a household name over the last decade.  It is traditional mixed quartet Southern Gospel music at its finest.


  • David Ragan proves he has the vocal ability to be a power house lead vocalist for the Perrys; something he wasn’t able to showcase when he was a member of the Inspirations.  He takes the lead on the stand out track on Into His Presence; “Lord, I’m Thankful”.  This Joel Lindsey tune would make a great radio single choice and could very well give the Perrys another #1 hit.
  • David also takes the second verse of “Just Stand Still”.  This song also gets a little ensemble work from the rest of the group including some classic Libbi power notes on the chorus.  This song is a must listen.
  • Speaking of Libbi, she has three features on Into His Presence.  “I Can Trust Him”, “Reminders” and “Privilege Of Prayer” are all strong but the closing track, “Privilege Of Prayer” is the stand out.  It is classic Perrys and sounds like a song that could have been penned by Kyla Rowland but in fact was written by Rachel McCutcheon.
  • Bryan Walker has four leads on Into His Presence, his strongest being the Johnny Minick classic; “How Long”.  I remember hearing this song on the radio by the Johnny Minick Family in the early 1990’s.  I’m glad the Perrys decided to cover it on Into His Presence.  Bryan also deserves mention on his performance of “I Owe Him Everything”.
  • It was great to hear Tracy in the mix throughout the recording and the duet with Tracy and Jared was also a special moment.
  • Strongest songs included in order:  “Lord, I’m Thankful”, “Just Stand Still”, “How Long”, “Privilege Of Prayer”, “I Owe Him Everything”, “I Can Trust Him” and “When He Comes Walking On The Water”.
  • I was surprised with the lack of up tempo songs on Into His Presence.  There are only two (“When He Comes Walking On The Water” and “Sooner Than Later”).  That is an oddity for a Perrys recording.
  • Weakest songs included in order:  “Sooner Than Later”.



The Perrys continue their long tradition of providing Southern Gospel listeners with the best mixed quartet music you’ll find.  While Into His Presence doesn’t quite stack up to the group’s last few recordings, in terms of song selection, it is still destined to be one of the top recordings of 2014.

SONG/Featured Vocalist – Songwriter:  1. “Into His Presence”/Ensemble; David – Mack Taunton  2. “When He Comes Walking On The Water“/Bryan – Jeff Bumgarnder, Wayne Haun  3. “I Can Trust Him”/Libbi – Wayne Haun, Joel Lindsey  4. “How Long”/Bryan – Johnny Minick  5. “Reminders”/Libbi – Melissa D Kennedy, Kyla Rowland  6. “Lord, I’m Thankful”/David – Joel Lindsey  7. “Sooner Than Later”/Bryan – Adina Bowman, Rachel McCutcheon  8. “Three Men On A Mountain”/Jared; Tracy – Wayne Haun, Joel Lindsey  9. “I Owe Him Everything”/Bryan – Lyn Rowell  10. “Just Stand Still”/Ensemble; David – Rodney Birch  11. “Privilege Of Prayer”/Libbi – Rachel McCutcheon


3 thoughts on “Into His Presence – Perrys

  1. Steve, I thought the only song Tracy sang on was “Three Men on a Mountain” and Jared did all the bass vocal work on the rest of the recording. I could be wrong, but I thought I read that somewhere on the internet…you know if it was on the internet, then it must be true! LOL!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s