Best Of 2013 – #15

Old PathsWe have made it to #15 among the best Southern Gospel album/recorded songs of 2013.  A nice mix of traditional quartet and mixed family music find a home at #15.

The Old Paths have been making strides in Southern Gospel music over the last several years.  2013 was capped off for the Old Paths when they picked up favorite new quartet at the Singing News fan awards.  2013 also saw the release of a new album for the Old Paths.

These Truths made its way to Southern Gospel listeners in July 2013.  The album is traditional Southern Gospel quartet music at its finest.  The album had one of the best recorded songs of 2013 with “Long Live The King”.

Lead vocalist Tim Rackley does some of best vocal work on These Truths.

Personal favorites from this recording include:  “Long Live The King”, “Love Them To Jesus”, “Isn’t That Why He Came”, “We Are Those Children”, “God Said I Love You” and “Enough And Then Some”.

 

Bowling FamilyA bit of a throw back to the 1990’s finds a home at #15 among the best recorded songs of 2013.  Larry Petree was one of Southern Gospel’s top songwriters during this decade penning some major hits: “By Faith I Can Touch Him Now” (Perrys), “Children Of The Dust” (Freemans), “God Likes To Work” (Karen Peck & New River), “Lazarus Come Forth” (Bishops) and “Unlike Me Just Like Him” (Isaacs) to name a few.

In 2013, the Bowling Family decided to record a Larry Petree tune for their album, Safe After The Storm.  “Victory’s Coming” is track #5 on this 2013 effort and features Mike Bowling on the lead.

The song starts with a bluegrass flair but ends as a Southern Gospel barn burner.  It is one of the best up tempo Southern Gospel songs recorded all year.

Here is a YouTube clip (published by larrypetreelive) of the audio version directly from the album of the Bowling Family singing “Victory’s Coming”.  Enjoy!

 

2 thoughts on “Best Of 2013 – #15

  1. I just wanted to let you know that I am enjoying the countdown again this year Steve! This was my favorite feature on your other blog, and I am glad to see it continue.

    I usually try to countdown my favorites along with you, but I’m not sure it is going to happen this year for two reasons.

    1. It doesn’t seem that my busy schedule is going to allow me the time this year.

    2. What little time I have spent trying to do my rankings, I have really struggled putting my favorites in order. I have about 10-12 albums that are my favorites this year, but there is very little difference in how I rank them. In other words, I listen to one of these albums and ask myself is this number 10 on my countdown or number 1.

    I’m still hoping I may be able to join in when you get to your top 10. I know our top 10 lists will be quite different because you have already listed at least 3 of my top 10 and you are only up to number 15.

    1. Thanks Brad. It is one of my favorite things to do all year. With all the music I listen to in a year, I enjoy giving my thoughts on what I consider to be the best of the year.

Leave a Reply

