2013 NQC – Thursday Night Recap

PerrysThe final notes of Thursday night of the 2013 National Quartet Convention is now floating through space somewhere.  Here are the nights hits and misses.

  • The day started early with the Gaither/Gatlin/Booth showcase.  Enjoyed the program especially “Greatly Blessed, Highly Favored” (all), “Healing Stream” (Isaacs), “Help Me” (Gatlin Brothers), “Stubborn” (Michael English) and “Through” (Booth Brothers).
  • The evening concerts kicked off with a talented bluegrass family; Southern Raised.  They could pick with the best of ’em.
  • Libbi Stuffle’s testimony tonight was heart-felt, motivational and powerful.  You could feel every word she was saying.  To follow it up with “I Rest My Case At The Cross” made it one of the most powerful musical moments of the night.
  • There were some strong a cappella moments tonight from the Collingsworth Family, Isaacs and Penny Loafers.
  • Another strong closing for tonight’s program.  The NQC decided to put last year’s Singing News fan award winners for favorite quartet (Triumphant), trio (Booth Brothers) and mixed group (Collingsworth Family) back to back to back to close the program.  It looked like the crowd stuck around to hear all three.
  • Of the showcase artists that made their way to the main stage tonight, I enjoyed the performance by Back Home; “Tell The Mountain (About Your God)”.

  • Another TBN commercial.
  • I hope it doesn’t sound too harsh when I say I really dislike the Browns song “A Place In The Choir”.  I know it is supposed to be a kids song, but the ‘old macdonald had a farm’ feel too it was too much for me.  And then to encore it; well I’ll stop.
  • Performances that seemed to fall flat (at least from viewing it via webcam), in order of appearance are as follows:  Paul’s Journey (“I’m Living In Canaan Now”), Browns (“A Place In The Choir”) and Mark Bishop (“I Got Here As Fast As I Could”).

 

**Now to crown the best of the night:

Best single song performances (in order of appearance):  (1) “Jesus Will” – Wilburn & Wilburn  (2) “Tell The Mountain (About Your God)” – Back Home  (3) “I’m Winging My Way Back Home” – Dixie Echoes  (4) “I Rest My Case At The Cross” – Perrys  (5) “Waiting In The Water” – Isaacs  (6) “He’s Alive” – Talleys  (7) “I’ll Worship Only At The Feet Of Jesus” – Hoppers  (8) “Come Unto Me” – Greater Vision  (9) “Because He Loved Me” – Triumphant Quartet  (8) “Since Jesus Came” – Booth Brothers  (8) “Come Thou Fount” – Collingsworth Family

Best Set of the Night:  One set stood out above all others tonight; the Perrys.

3 thoughts on “2013 NQC – Thursday Night Recap

  1. Happier now Steve? 🙂

    For Greater Vision’s song, I would definitely put in “This is Mercy” or “For All He’s Done” as highlights of their set and the night. “Come Unto Me” is a nice song but wasn’t nearly as memorable, to me anyway.

    1. Yes, the variety moved the program along at a quicker clip last night. I enjoyed “This Is Mercy” and “For All He’s Done”, but sometimes just the more simpler, non over-orchestrated track type song gets my attention more and that was the case with “Come Unto Me”.

  2. We saw the Guy Penrod showcase and the Gaither/Gatlin/Booth Brothers showcase before heading home for North Carolina. Both showcases were outstanding.

    Penrod’s showcase was marred by a late start due to the chapel service running over and some technical issues when his tracks didn’t work, but he handled it like the professional that he is. He sang the first couple of songs with just an acoustic guitar accompanist, then he shared a story about Bev Shea.

    The vast majority of Penrod’s material was from his award winning _Hymns_ CD, but he also did “Jesus And John Wayne” and about three songs from his first solo CD.

    The Gaither/Gatlin/Booth Brothers showcase was like a Homecoming concert with fewer artists. I think that was the best move rather than having each artist do separate sets the way the GVB/EHSS showcases were staged in the past.

    The Gatlin element was extended beyond the songs they sang, since both the GVB and Booth Brothers have recorded several songs Larry Gatlin has written.

    My only disappointment was the fact that they didn’t get to do all the songs they had planned. I had hoped to hear the Booths sing Gatlin’s “Steps,” which they recorded on their first Spring Hill CD years ago. I also thought surely the Gatlins would sing “The Prodigal Son” at some point.

    Adding the Isaacs to sing Gatlin’s “Healing Stream” was also a nice touch.

Leave a Reply

