2013 NQC – Wednesday Night Recap

TQWednesday night of the 2013 National karaoke, oops I mean Quartet Convention is now complete.  Working late didn’t get me home until the Dixie Melody Boys hit the stage so I missed Soul’d Out and the Kingsmen.  Here are the nights hits and misses.

  • I commend folks who can sit and listen to five straight hours of nothing but all male quartet music.  Or those, who can attend an all day bluegrass music festival.  I enjoy both but I get bored easily (always been that way).  I need variety to keep me interested and focused or my mind wanders.  Tonight, I found myself wandering quite a bit.
  • The Dixie Melody Boys turned in another strong set with nothing but live music!  Ed made a good hire when bringing Aaron Dishman aboard.  His performance of “Hello Mama” with just piano and bass accompaniment was outstanding.  Can groups see you don’t have to hire a ton of musicians to use live music.  The Dixie Melody Boys pulled off a great musical moment with just piano and bass.
  • Thanks to the NQC for honoring the 58 year legacy of the Couriers.
  • While the track was over-powering, it was nice to see a quartet from Brazil.  Sometimes we forget the reach Southern Gospel music has in the digital age.
  • I got my second wind by the end of the evening and thought it ended strong with Legacy Five, Gold City and Triumphant Quartet.
  • Thank you Brian Free for bringing up Karen Peck Gooch to help on “Looking For A City” and breaking up the monotony of the night.

  • Announcing your partnership with TBN (with a full TBN television commercial) is embarrassing considering the scandals that have hit them the last couple of years.
  • Some of the ‘scrap’ quartets they threw together were funny but took up too much time.  It may have been better to just scrap that idea.
  • Martin Cook announcing from the stage that he was fined $200 last year for running over, I thought was tactless.  You know the rules.  Run over you get fined.  I bet he loved the year he encored “I Have Not Forgotten” at least 50 times and ran over about 20 minutes.
  • Performances that seemed to fall flat (at least from viewing it via webcam), in order of appearance are as follows:  Torchmen (“One Way Trip”), Confused Quartet (“Have A Little Talk With Jesus”) and Kingdom Heirs (“Just Beyond The Sunset”, 2 nights in a row – ouch),.

 

**Now to crown the best of the night:

Best single song performances (in order of appearance):  (1) “Hello Mama” – Dixie Melody Boys  (2) “Come And See” – LeFevre Quartet  (3) “Safe Thus Far” – Tribute Quartet  (4) “We Are Those Children” – Old Paths  (5) “Redeeming The Time” – Kingdom Heirs  (6) “Wedding Music” – Mark Trammell Quartet  (7) “We Shall See Jesus” – Legacy Five  (8) “Welcome To Heaven” – Triumphant Quartet

Best Set of the Night:  For turning in a strong close to the evening and performing a better set than their Monday set, I will give set of the night to Triumphant Quartet.

12 thoughts on “2013 NQC – Wednesday Night Recap

  1. Sets that stood out on the evening event for me were Legacy Five, Gold City and the Kingdom Heirs.

    The highlight of the evening was the tribute to the Couriers followed by “Statue Of Liberty” with both groups.

    Right behind that, I’d put Legacy V’s performance of “We Shall See Jesus.” I was sitting just four rows behind Dianne Wilkinson, so I was able to see her reaction to hearing her song. They showed her on camera after the set was finished, of course, but that’s not the same.

    I was disappointed the Kingsmen didn’t do a song with Chris Jenkins playing piano and Bob Sellers playing bass. I’ve heard from a few people that it’s a highlight of their set these days. Maybe they’ll showcase that format later in the week. Something sounded a little off tonight in their set…mainly a mix issue, I think.

    Of course, I roamed the Exhibit Hall again…finally had a waffle cone…spoke with a bunch of people, and so forth. Angela Griffin of SGN Scoops made my photo with Guy Penrod, so that could on Facebook at some point. I didn’t take my own camera tonight, but MusicScribe’s Offical NQC Photographer was quite busy.

    My friends and I actually started out this morning with the Song Of A Lifetime showcase at 11:30 AM. Each songwriter shared a brief story behind a song and then either sang it or brought up a group to sing it. Sadly, it wasn’t very well attended, but it was well worth attending. Some of the usual writers you’d expect were on there like Rodney Griffin and Gerald Crabb, but they also highlighted people like Brian Burchfield and Matthew Browder.

    We also saw a Ken Davis showcase that also featured about 10-12 artists who are involved with Compassion International. Each group sang a song, and then Ken did about 45 minutes of comedy.

    I bought some more old copies of Singing News magazine for my collection. I’m through collecting for a while…need to do some reading at some point!

    All in all, it was a good day, but a little tiring.

    We plan to catch a Guy Penrod showcase and the Gaither/Gatlin/Booth Brothers showcase tomorrow before heading back to North Carolina.

    1. I’m pretty sure he said “Two years ago we ran over time and I got fined $200…” Might have to watch the webcast on demand to clarify…

  2. Gerald did a fabulous doing the MC . i feel NQC should have nothing to do with TBN. they were only filming for their benefit and will play those when they please. Martin cook was tactless in the fine. i do want to commend the board of NQC at keeping these groups at a time limit and sticking to in. in years past that did not happen but the mc is right there when the last nnote is sung on their set. it was funny the McCameys were going to try to go longer and they stopped Peg and she said oh are we done but she kept trying to talk. good job NQC board. i love NQC and can not wait until they get to pigeon forge thanks

    1. You’re all quartet junkies who have the capacity to sit through five straight hours of all male quartet music. That takes a special kind of person. 🙂

      Seriously, I do enjoy quartets, but I need variety or the music starts running together for me.

    2. The same would happen if it was all mixed quartets, or all male trios. You get the picture.

      You need to mix it up or you’re guaranteed to lose me.

Leave a Reply

