Sweet Freedom – Greenes

greenes2013sweetfreedomGRADE:  B

  • Album – Sweet Freedom
  • Artist – Greenes
  • Label – ACA
  • Style – Traditional
  • Release Date – 07/09/13
  • Available For Digital Download? – Yes (iTunes, Rhapsody)



Tim Greene continues the legacy of the Greenes by releasing his fourth album under the all male vocal configuration.

Sweet Freedom released July 9th and features ten songs of traditional Southern Gospel music.  The current vocal line-up of the Greenes is Tim (lead/baritone), Keith Skiles (tenor) and Scott Mullins (baritone/lead).

This new album stays true to what the Greenes have offered Southern Gospel listeners in the past.


  • Tim continues to provide the Greenes with most of their material.  He wrote the eight new songs found on Sweet Freedom.
  • Tim also shines vocally on one of the stand out tracks; “He’s Walking Out”.  Tim has written several big resurrection songs over the course of his career.  He has another winner here.
  • New baritone Scott Mullins proves he’s got the right vocal for the Greenes.  Take a listen to “Sweet Freedom”, “God Never Forgets” and “We Will Win This War”.  “God Never Forgets” would make a good radio single choice.
  • Tenor Keith Skiles turns in a solid performance of the Dottie Rambo classic, “In The Valley He Restoreth My Soul”.  This classic has been making it’s rounds lately being recorded by several artists over the course of the last several years.  Not complaining, this is one of Dottie’s most underrated compositions.
  • The Greenes also give the listener a standard up tempo number in the vein of “Glorious City Of God”.  “The Saint’s Glorious Ship” would be another good choice for Southern Gospel radio.
  • Strongest songs included in order:  “He’s Walking Out”, “God Never Forgets”, “The Saint’s Glorious Ship”, “Sweet Freedom”, “We Will Win This War” and “In The Valley He Restoreth My Soul”.
  • The Greenes tackle another classic with “Turn Your Eyes Upon Jesus”.  The cover doesn’t add anything new from other versions of the song.
  • It was refreshing to hear a Southern Gospel recording without all the big production/orchestration.  The simple instrumentation on Sweet Freedom may not be enough for some listeners who enjoy the ‘big track’ type recordings.
  • Weakest songs included in order:  “Turn Your Eyes Upon Jesus” and “Further Down The Road”.



The Greenes have always provided Southern Gospel listeners with traditional sounds.  While most listeners may miss the high soaring soprano singer, the all male vocal configuration of the Greenes is worth a listen.  If you have not introduced yourself to this new version of the Greenes, Sweet Freedom would be a good place to start.

SONG/Featured Vocalist – Songwriter:  1. “Further Down The Road”/Tim – Tim Greene  2. “Sweet Freedom“/Scott; Keith – Tim Greene  3. “In The Valley He Restoreth My Soul”/Keith – Dottie Rambo  4. “God Never Forgets”/Scott; Tim – Tim Greene  5. “Turn Your Eyes Upon Jesus”/Scott – Traditional, PD  6. “We Will Win This War”/Scott; Tim – Tim Greene  7. “He’s Walking Out”/Tim – Tim Greene  8. “Sammy’s Song”/Scott; Tim; Keith – Tim Greene  9. “The Saint’s Glorious Ship”/Tim; Keith – Tim Greene  10. “On Heaven’s Side”/Keith; Scott – Tim Greene 


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s