Smack Down!! – Rambos – Round 1

This week’s artist album smack down is the first match up for classic artist, the Rambos.  Listen to sound bytes of each recording and then vote for the album you think should win.

  • rambos1972 (199x200)Album – Soul In The Family
  • Release Year – 1972
  • Vocal Line Up – Buck Rambo (Lead/Baritone), Dottie Rambo (Alto/Lead), Reba Rambo (Soprano)
  • Song List – (1) “No One Else Can Lead Me Home” (2) “If Heaven’s A Dream (Let Me Dream On)” (3) “Ten Thousand Years” (4) “I’m Gonna Wake Up In Glory” (5) “One Step At A Time” (6) “Things Are Gonna Be Better Afterwhile” (7) “I Gave Him Nothing Till I Gave Him All” (8) “I Have A Longing” (9) “I Can Feel The Touch Of His Hand” (10) “It Will Pass”

vs

  • rambos1968eveningwith200Album – An Evening With The Singing Rambos
  • Release Year – 1968
  • Vocal Line Up – Buck Rambo (Lead/Baritone), Dottie Rambo (Alto/Lead), Reba Rambo (Soprano)
  • Song List – (1) “(As Long As You) Walk With Me” (2) “I’m Gonna Leave Here Shoutin” (3) “The Holy Hills Of Heaven” (4) “Will There Be Any Stars” (5) “Had It Not Been” (6) “Big, Big Man” (7) “Where Did All The Good Folks Go” (8) “Too Much To Gain To Lose” (9) “He Cared That Much For Me” (10) “If I Were My Brother” (11) “God You Never Cried” (12) “Where Will You Be”
2 thoughts on “Smack Down!! – Rambos – Round 1

  1. There are so many great songs written by Dottie Rambo, it is hard to pick the favorite Rambo album, but my choice for the trio would have been Soul Classics which contained the songs “In the Valley (He Restoreth my soul),” “Mama Always Had a Song,” and “Who’s Gonna Teach my Children’s Children?”. My choice for Dottie Rambo’s solo albums would be her Heartprints album which contained “A Hymn from Way Back Home,” “Tiny,” and “Who’s Gonna Teach My Children’s Children?”. My all-time favorite song has been “He Looked Beyond My Fault (and saw my need).” There will probably never be another songwriter in our lifetime as prolific as the late Dottie Rambo.

  2. As much as I’d like to vote for one of these albums, neither represents my favorite period of The Rambos. An Evening With… has the great Walk With Me (my favorite from this LP). Soul in the Family still reflects the earlier period of Dottie’s writing. However, the last track of the album is the near perfect It Will Pass. The track seems to be foreshadowing a new dynamic and sound the group would be headed towards in the future. The track almost feels out of place on this predominately quiet LP. If Jerry’s choice of Soul Classics would have been included in the poll, I would have undoubtedly cast a vote for it. Besides having beautiful backing orchestration, Soul Classics has Dottie’s powerhouse Somebody Stepped on Board! While I can find something positive on all Rambo albums, my favorite period of the group encompasses The Son is Shining, These Three are One, There Has to be a Song, Naturally, Crossin’ Over, and Reunion.

Leave a Reply

