Smack Down!! – Brian Free and Assurance – Round 1

This week’s artist album smack down is the first match up for Brian Free and Assurance.  Listen to sound bytes of each recording and then vote for the album you think should win.

  • bfa2006Album – It’s So God
  • Release Year – 2006
  • Vocal Line Up – Brian Free (tenor), Bill Shivers (lead), Derrick Selph (baritone), Keith Plott (bass)
  • Song List – (1) “When The Lord Says Go” (2) “It’s All About The Blood” (3) “The Coming Of The King” (4) “If It Takes A Valley” (5) “Man Of Sorrows” (6) “Deep Deep Sea” (7) “The Only Thing Broken” (8) “Keeping The Old Man Down” (9) “It’s Good And It’s God” (10) “Under Cross Examination” (11) “Jesus Will Pick You Up”

vs

  • bfa1998Album – Doing This For You
  • Release Year – 1998
  • Vocal Line Up – Brian Free (tenor), Randy Crawford (lead), John McBroom (baritone), Bob Caldwell (bass)
  • Song List – (1) “The Heavenly Parade” (2) “Have I Got A Song For You” (3) “I’m Doing This For You” (4) “I’m Living Well” (5) “It’s Still My Father’s World” (6) “Who Is This King” (7) “What A Difference A Day Makes” (8) “Sign Me Up” (9) “Gone At Last” (10) “So We Could Become Like Him” (11) “Jesus Is The Sweetest Name I Know”
7 thoughts on “Smack Down!! – Brian Free and Assurance – Round 1

  1. Ok I’ll bite . . . Though I think the vocal lineup on “It’s So God” is the best vocal lineup Brian has ever had, I still prefer “Doing This For You”. I think I like the song selection and instrumentation better. I remember when that album came out that I had it in a regular rotation in my CD player for awhile, whereas “It’s So God”, I only listened to it through a time or two and then picked out a couple of songs for my iTunes playlist. Both are good albums, I would just lean toward the former.

  2. I like ’em both. I think I prefer the production on _Doing This For You_, and _It’s So God_ does have the horrendous pun-based clunker “Under Cross Examination” going against it. But ultimately it’s got a lot of memorable songs that tip the balance in favor of it for me.

  3. Doing This For You….easily one of the most overlooked albums of the last 20 years. “So We Could Become Like Him” is amazing. Easily the best versions of “Who Is This King” and “What A Difference A Day Makes” as well. Incredible album.

    It’s So God was a great album too, but doesn’t quite measure up from top to bottom.

  4. It’s so God was top notch. To me it showed that this group was going to be a contender for some time to come-and they have been. It also showed a great deal of variety, something to keep everyone listening to gospel.

Leave a Reply

