Twelve – Three Bridges

Three BridgesGRADE:  B+

  • Album – Twelve
  • Artist – Three Bridges
  • Label – Mansion Entertainment
  • Style – Progressive
  • Release Date – 12/05/12
  • Available For Digital Download? – Yes (iTunes, Amazon, Rhapsody)


Three Bridges released their latest album, Twelve, at the end of 2012.  As the title suggests, the album celebrates the group’s twelve years in Southern Gospel music.

The vocal members that comprised Twelve is Jeremie Hudson (tenor), Shannon Smith (lead) and original Three Bridges member Elliott McCoy (baritone).  This is the group’s third album with this particular vocal line-up.

Three Bridges style falls on the progressive Southern Gospel scale, but not to a degree where traditional Southern Gospel listeners would not enjoy this recording.


  • Shannon Smith is a strong lead vocalist who commands this album.  His vocal work throughout this album is evident.  He turns in the best performance on the album with the first radio single, “Forgive Myself”.  Shannon also turns in a great performance on the Michael Combs song, “Walking With The Lord (On My Knees)”.
  • Jeremie’s tenor work should also be commended.  Jeremie is not the traditional Southern Gospel high soaring tenor.  He shines on “Drinking From The Well” and “My Tribute”.
  • Three Bridges has two ‘hard driving’ country style tunes that are fun on Twelve.  “House Of Good News” and “Salvation Station” are both worth a listen.  Be careful if you’re listening in the car, you may find yourself turning it up and going a little faster than you should.
  • The duet work Shannon and Jeremie perform on “By His Word” sounds like it would make a great concert number.  It make the first half of Twelve better than the second half of the recording.
  • Strongest songs included in order:  “Walking With The Lord (On My Knees)”, “Forgive Myself”, “Drinking From A Well”, “House Of Good News”, “By His Word” and “Salvation Station”.
  • Another cover of Bill Gaither’s “He Touched Me”.  As great as some songs are, there should be a moratorium placed on them in regards how often they can be recorded.  There was noting offered on this cover to separate it from the countless other versions in Southern Gospel music.
  • Weakest songs included in order:  “He Touched Me”, “Have A Talk With God” and “Livin’ In The Lion’s Den”.


The strength of this Three Bridges album should not be overlooked.  This album ranks as one of the best in the group’s discography, at least their best since the 2006 album Promises.  Shannon Smith and Jeremie Hudson combine for a vocal blend that is one of the best in Southern Gospel music.  If you have not introduced yourself to the music of Three Bridges, Twelve would be a great place to start.

SONG/Featured Vocalist – SONGWRITER:  1. “Drinking From The Well”/Jeremie – Kelly Garner, Amy Sue Keffer, Dianne Wilkinson  2. “Forgive Myself”/Shannon – Amy Sue Keffer, John Lemonis  3. “House Of Good News”/Elliott, Shannon – James Payne  4. “Shadrach”/Ensemble – Grace Hawthorne, Buryl Red  5. “By His Word”/Shannon, Jeremie – Rebecca Peck, John Robinson  6. “Livin’ In The Lion’s Den”/Shannon – Glenn Ashworth, Glen Bates  7. “The Day Nobody Praised Him”/Elliott – Eric Hudson  8. “Salvation Station”/Ensemble – Richard Moore, Joel Parisien, Mark Rogers, Joshua Toal  9. “Have A Talk With God”/Ensemble – Calvain Hardaway, Stevie Wonder  10. “He Touched Me”/Ensemble – William Gaither  11. “Walking With The Lord (On My Knees)”/Shannon – Michael Combs  12. “My Tribute”/Jeremie – Andre Crouch


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s