The #1s – “Antioch Church Choir”

The #1’s is a feature that looks at the #1 chart songs in Singing News history.  There was a time in Southern Gospel music (or the music industry in general) when a #1 song would reap significant benefits for the artist.  Such is not the case in 2013.

In the history of their recording career, the Dixie Melody Boys have scored only one #1 song.  That song was “Antioch Church Choir”; a song that tells the story of uncle Jesse who only wanted to sing in the church choir.  This is a signature song for the Dixie Melody Boys who would record it on several other occasions in the 1990’s and 2000’s.  The group still uses the song as a regular part of their concert appearances today.

The song spent one month at #1 in September 1982.  The song happened to be the title track of the group’s 1982 album, Antioch Church Choir (Uncle Jesse).  Here is a YouTube clip I found of the Dixie Melody Boys recorded at the time of the original recording (circa 1982) performing “Antioch Church Choir”.  Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “The #1s – “Antioch Church Choir”

  1. I, too, love this song, but I always have questions after I listen to it. I don’t really understand the “spiritual value” of the song. I’ve heard it sung so many times as the special music right before the sermon, yet the only point I can ever come away with is “let everyone sing in the choir.” Am I missing the point?
    Please don’t misunderstand my heart. I am not bashing the song or the Dixie Melody Boys. I do enjoy the song, but would like to be enlightened. I have always wondered if I am the only one who has these questions. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

