Ten On Ten – LeFevres

lefevres1975experience150This week finds another ten on ten feature highlighting the recording career of the LeFevres.  A group that began as a trio dating back to 1921, legend Eva Mae would join the group after marrying Urias LeFevre in 1934.

The group started their own record label (Sing Records) in Atlanta Georgia in the early 1960’s that recorded many of the most popular groups of that era.  The group would continue as the LeFevres until Eva Mae decided to retire in 1976 handing the reigns over to bass singer Rex Nelon.  As a continuation, the Rex Nelon Singers were born.

lefevres1963sing150The LeFevers ten best albums are as follows:

  1. Experience (1975)
  2. The New Sounds (1972)
  3. Stepping On The Clouds (1974)
  4. Sing (1963)
  5. A Man Who Is Wise (1967)
  6. A Visit With (1966)
  7. Lord, It’s Me Again (1964)
  8. The Best Is Yet To Come (1969)
  9. Without Him (1964)
  10. Singing Til He Comes (1977)
  • The LeFevres best recordings are evenly split among their Canaan Record years and their Sing Record years (5 each in the top 10).  The pinnacle in the group’s discography is the 1975 album, Experience.
  • One of the best vocal line-ups of the group’s career is found on Experience.  Ronnie Hutchins (of Inspirations fame) sang lead, Janet Paschal sang the soprano, Alphus LeFevre was on baritone while Rex Nelon head down the bass notes.  Eva Mae was still traveling playing piano and singing specials.lefevres1966visitwith150
  • Song highlights on Experience included “Bringing It Home”, “He’s Ready To Come, I’m Ready To Go”, “Jesus Is Coming”, “Nearing The Shore”, “Todays Gonna Be A Brighter Day” and “When My Feet Touch The Streets Of Gold”.
  • The 1972, The New Sounds Of The LeFevres, album ranks #2 among the ten best.  The original version of “I’ve Come Too Far” (Hoppers #1 hit) is found on this particular album.  The listener is also treated to the LeFevres versions of “I Can Feel The Touch Of His Hand”, “I Will Serve Thee”, “I Won’t Have To Worry”, “In The Valley He Restoreth My Soul” and “Wonderful Day”.
  • The top Sing Records album in the 1963 recording Sing (ranked #4).  This early LeFevres album had Urias and Alphus on vocals along with Pierce LeFevre and Rex Nelon.  This was the first album to feature the Rex Nelon classic “I Love To Call His Name” and the Eva Mae piano mastery on “When The Home Gates Swing Open”.
  • The LeFevres most recognized song is the Mylon LeFevre penned, “Without Him”.  Mylon would join the group in the late 1960’s and would later have a huge career in Christian Contemporary Music.  The album, Without Him, ranks #9 among the group’s ten best.
  • In the 1960’s, when the Gospel Singing Jubilee television program was getting off the ground, the LeFevres along with the Blue Ridge Quartet, Johnson Sisters and the Prophets had success with the Gospel Singing Caravan television program.
  • The group closed out their career on a high note with their final Canaan Records album, Singing Til he Comes, landing at #10 among the group’s ten best recordings.  This album contained the Rex Nelon Singers line-up (Rodney Swain, Janet Paschal, Kelly Nelon, Rex Nelon) with Eva Mae.
  • Other songs, in addition to the ones listed, introduced by the LeFevres included “A Man Who Is Wise”, “Come On Let’s Go To That Land”, “Happy Tracks”, “I Love Him So”, “I’ll Go”, “Let The Redeemed Say So”, “Stepping On The Clouds” and “Victory Shall Be Mine”.lefevres1964withouthim150
  • With a recording career as extensive as the LeFevres there were several albums that deserve honorable mention that didn’t make the top ten.  They include:  Songs Of Happiness (1958), Gospel Music USA (1976), He’s Wonderful (1963), Happiness Is Gospel (1973) and Sing The Gospel (1965).



One thought on “Ten On Ten – LeFevres

  1. The 1972 album featured Ron and Barb Dailey , Who were the first to replace Pierce and Mylon

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s