Best Of 2012 – #2

HoppersI trust everyone had a wonderful Christmas day.  As we get close to turning the page on 2012 and starting 2013, it is time to take a final look at the best Southern Gospel album and recorded song of the year.  Today we take a look at the runner-up (#2).

Runner up for the best Southern Gospel album of 2012 is Count Me In by the Hoppers.  Released in October, Count Me In is a different album for the Hoppers, in comparison to their last half-dozen.  This time the group called on Michael Sykes to produce and the end result is an album that hearkens the listener back to the Hoppers of the early 1990’s.

I had the opportunity to see the Hoppers in concert at the beginning of December and Taranda Greene happened to be with them that weekend.  If this revamped Hoppers 2.0, with Taranda, is going to be a regular part of the group’s tour in 2013 prepare yourself now for one power house performance.

Personal favorites from this recording include:  “I’ll Take You Home”, “I’ll Worship Only At The Feet Of Jesus”, “He Didn’t Just Carry The Cross”, “Count Me In”, “I Wish We’d All Been Ready”, “That’s What I Love About Him” and “I Am Whatever You Need”.

TalleysRoger and Debra Talley were both members of the Hoppers back in the late 1970’s/early 1980’s.  Here we are, 30+ years later and both groups are still at the top of their field releasing the best Southern Gospel music of 2012.

I named the Talleys 2012 album Love Won #4 among the best albums released this year.  There were several strong songs on that album, but there was one in particular that stood out above the rest.  “Broken World” sounded like a follow-up to another Talleys mega-song, “Broken Ones”.

Bev Herrema, Sean Smith and Terry Wilkins penned this power house tune that found a home in my iPod all year.  Lauren Talley’s vocal work coupled with the strong lyric made this one of the best songs recorded in Southern Gospel music is 2012.  Listen to a clip of “Broken World”.

Tomorrow will crown the #1 album and recorded song of 2012!

One thought on “Best Of 2012 – #2

  1. Coming in at number two on my countdown of top 20 albums for 2012 is “Love Won” by the Talleys. I have always enjoyed the Talley’s (Talley Trio) music but have never been a huge fan until this year. This album is simply fantastic. It has quickly become my favorite recording in the Talley’s discography. The combination of great vocal work, outstanding song selection, and fantastic arrangments make this the second best album released this year. Not only that, but with the addition of Brian Alvey, the Talleys have now become one of my favorite mixed groups! “Love Won”, “Make Way For the Master”, “Broken World”, “Surely”, “That’s Why I Love Him So”, and “Love Covers All” all deserve a mention among the best songs recorded in 2012. However, my personal favorite song on this CD is “Up Above”. This song is fantastic in it’s own right, but it just really spoke to me in a special way the first few times I heard it. Therefore, it is not only my favorite song from this album but is also my favorite for all of 2012. I can’t wait to hear more great albums from the Talleys in the future!

Leave a Reply

