Best Of 2012 – #10

BFAWe are now half way through the countdown.  It is time to kick off the top ten and find out what is #10 among the best Southern Gospel albums and recorded songs of 2012.

When I reviewed Brian Free and Assurance’s new album, Nothing But Love, as part of the ‘must buy or not’ feature, I gave the album a ‘no’ on he must buy scale.  Anytime I review an album I stack it up against the artist’s body of work, not against other albums being released.  For that reason that is why I gave it a ‘no’.

This countdown, on the other hand, ranks the best albums by every artist released in 2012 against each other.  In doing so, Nothing But Love by Brian Free and Assurance is still one of the ten best albums of 2012, coming in at #10.

Personal favorites from this recording include:  “Revival”, “It’s Quite A Valley”, “I Will Be Praying”, “I Want To Be That Man”, “Calvary’s Cry” and “Nothing But Love”.

AkinsThe top ten recorded songs of 2012 kicks off with Akins, “He Is I Am”.  If you’ve been a reader of this blog for any length of time, you know I like variety and you also know I enjoy country flavored Southern Gospel music.

Akins fits that style perfectly.  I would go on to say they are currently the best country flavored artist touring right now.  Their new album, Based On A True Story, released in 2012 filled with songs written by various members of the group.

“He Is I Am” is the strongest song on the album, penned by group member Eli Akin and wife Whitney.  Listen to a clip of the #10 recorded song of 2012; “He Is I Am”.

Tomorrow:  #9.

3 thoughts on “Best Of 2012 – #10

  1. I’m thrilled to see you list the Akins in your top picks for the year with this wonderful song! Actually, you’ve really helped introduce several newer artists to many folks I’m sure by listing them in your tops this year. Great job, Steve!!!

    1. Thanks. I believe a lot of folks miss out on some great music because they are not willing to give newer artists a chance.

      Of course, I have the luxury of listening to a lot more Southern Gospel music in a year than most listener’s do, so that helps. That is why this outlet of having a blog and being able to present all that Southern Gospel has to offer is important to me.

      The best is not always about the ‘big name’ artists.

  2. Brian Free and Assurance will definitely be on my list a little later. Kicking off my top 10 is one of the most anticipated albums of the year. In late 2011 we learned that Tim Duncan had joined Aaron Crabb, Matt Hagee, and Michael Sykes to form Canton Junction. It was almost a year later before their debut CD was released, but it quickly became one of my favorites for 2012. This was actually a 2 CD set but for the purpose of rating it I consider it a 20 song album. I know some people were disappointed with some of the songs on this recording, but there are so many great songs that a few weak ones does not keep it from being in my top 10. This quartet has a great sound with the potential to be one of southern gospel’s top groups if they choose to travel full time in the future. The best song on “Canton Junction” is the great live version of “Sweeter as the Days Go By”. Other great songs on this project include: “Heaven Is”, “The Son Shines Down on Me”, “Hold On”, “Show Me Your Way”, “The Inviting Christ”, and one of the best renditions of ” In the Valley He Restoreth My Soul” that I have ever heard.

Leave a Reply

