Ten On Ten – Sego Brothers & Naomi

This week’s ten on ten feature highlights the recording career of an artist that is seldom mentioned or remembered among today’s Southern Gospel listeners; the Sego Brothers and Naomi.  The Sego Brothers and Naomi began their recording career in the early 1960’s with the Songs Of Faith record label.

The group would go on to have the first million selling record in Southern Gospel music with the song “Sorry I Never Knew You”.  The original group consisted of James Sego and brothers WR Sego, Lamar Sego and James’ wife Naomi Sego.  Naomi Sego has continued touring until recently when she experienced some health issues.

The top ten albums by the Sego Brothers and Naomi are as follows:

  1. Meetin’ Time (1971)
  2. Happy Day (1969)
  3. The Dearest Friend I Ever Had (1973)
  4. Standing Ovation (1981)
  5. I Pray My Way Out Of Trouble (1972)
  6. Sing The Gospel (1962)
  7. What A Happy Time (1974)
  8. Hem Of His Garment (1965)
  9. This World Has Turned Me Down (1968)
  10. With The Help Of God (1967)
  • The pinnacle in the Sego Brothers and Naomi’s discography is the 1971 Heart Warming Records album, Meetin’ Time.  This album highlighted the group at the peak of their career.
  • The album was highlighted with some of Naomi and WR’s best vocal performances.  They included “Clinging To A Saving Hand”, “I Believe That He’s Coming”, “Modern Age Of Progress”, “I Can Tell You The Time”, “There’s Something About That Name”, “A Table Spread For Me” and “A Little Heaven In My Soul”.
  • Next up on the list (at #2) is the 1969 Heart Warming album, Happy Day.  “Happy Day”, “Broken Pieces”, “I’ve Been Born Again”, “The Lights Of Home”, “I’ve Got That Old Time Religion”, “I’m Free Today” and “I Can Feel His Arms Around Me” all highlight the Segos at their best.
  • The best post Sego Brothers (only Naomi) album is the 1981 album Standing Ovation (ranked #4).  William Pippin spent time with the group during this time period and really added an extra vocal punch that enhanced the group’s sound.  He also wrote much of the group’s material during this time as well.
  • One can’t cover the recording career of the Sego Brothers and Naomi and not mention the 1962 recording, Sing The Gospel (ranked #6).  This was the album to feature the million selling song “Sorry I Never Knew You”, a song that would be a signature for the group for the remainder of their career.
  • This recording also gave the listener the Sego versions of greats such as “Until Then”, “The Last Mile Of The Way”, “I Found Jesus”, “Since I Got This Feeling”, “I’m Going Up There” and “Nothing Here To Hinder Me”.
  • The early 1970’s was a great recording period for the Segos.  In addition to Meetin’ Time, the 1972 album I Pray My Way Out Of Trouble ranks #5, the 1973 album The Dearest Friend I Ever Had ranks #3 and the 1974 album What A Happy Time ranks #7.
  • In addition to “Sorry I Never Knew You”, other songs that can be identified with the Sego Brothers and Naomi include “Good Morning Neighbor”, “Hem Of His Garment”, “I’m A Millionaire”, “It Will Be Different The Next Time”, “It’s Already Paid For”, “Satisfied With Me” and “Silver And Gold”.
  • Brother Lamar Sego would leave the group in the late 1960’s and form his own family group, the Lamar Sego Family who had some success in the 1970’s.
  • With a recording career as extensive as the Sego Brothers and Naomi there were several albums that didn’t make the top ten but deserve honorable mention:  Down Home Singin’ (1975), It’s About Time (1990), Happy Ending (2008), I’m Longing For Home (1967) and Somebody Touched Me (1968).

***NEXT UP ON TEN ON TEN:  MARTINS***

5 thoughts on “Ten On Ten – Sego Brothers & Naomi

  1. This post series is quite possibly the most valuable set of posts I read anywhere in the SG world these days. You almost invariably highlight either an album I need to start looking for or an album I have but perhaps haven’t really listened to as much as it deserves. Thank you!

    1. You’re welcome. I enjoy doing this series. The only problem is I am close to running out of artists to feature. My plan, is once I have run through as many artists as I am able, I am going to re-visit some current artists to see if recent releases have changed my previous top ten rankings.

  2. What A Happy Time was a disappointing purchase for me. The cover shows Jay Simmons as the bass singer but he wasn’t on the LP.

Leave a Reply

