Bad Southern Gospel Songs – “Jesus Can Heal Your Achy Breaky Heart”

Today I wanted to offer another new feature to the blog.  I try to highlight the best music Southern Gospel has offered over the course of its recording history.  The fact of the matter is not every song recorded in the history of this genre has been good.  There have been some bad and downright corny songs.  This new feature is in search of the corniest Southern Gospel song ever recorded.

This new feature is not a slam against the songwriter who wrote the song or a slam against the artist who recorded it, but a critique of the song itself.  I will need my readers help each week as we search for the corniest Southern Gospel song ever recorded.  In the comments section I want you to give the song a rating of 1 to 5 with 5 being the highest in terms of cheese factor.

The first song in the spotlight is a re-write of an early ’90’s country hit “Achy Breaky Heart”.  If the country song wasn’t ‘cheese’ enough, the MaHarreys decided to record a re-work of the song titled “Jesus Can Heal Your Achy Breaky Heart” on a 1993 recording Turning Point.

Listen to the first verse and chorus and remember to rate the ‘cheese’ factor in the comments section on a scale of 1 to 5.

Posted on February 24, 2012, in Cheese Factor and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. This calls to mind another song from the same era…”Are You the Achan That’s Breakin’ God’s Heart?”

    • ‘Are You The Achan’ was a much better song in terms of story, message and the way in which it was written.

      So what is the ‘cheese’ factor of “Jesus Can Heal”?

      • Brian,
        The Hoppers song was based on the real story in the Bible of Achan, and surely is not as cheesy as a rip off of Billy Cyrus song.

      • The cheese factor is the song being the spitting image of the Billy Cyrus hit and trying to cash in on his success in SG. :)

  2. This is a great idea- can’t wait to see the rest of the future posts you have planned.

    I shall rate this a 4.2 on the cheese scale

  3. Yeah not so good but,every one has different taste.I was asked to sing at a funeral back when this song was out and it was the gentlemans favorite song . The family wanted me to sing it but couldn’t find a sound track for it ,thankfully they played the MaHarry’s doing it and i sang That Sounds Like Home To Me and In The garden!!!

  4. Thank you, Steve, for bringing attention to this tune. One thing you left out, the song charted at #15 on the Singing News charts. How embarrassing??

    I understand their idea for re-writing and recording the song, but it’s a bit too obvious.

    4.85 on cheese.

  5. My contribution: “Champion of Love.”

    *ducks and runs*

  6. Wow! What opinions! Don’t see anything wrong with the song. If you want to launch a discussion about “re-makes”, I am sure it would be very interesting!

    As for distasteful songs at funerals, I was participating in a funeral one time where they played, “Prop Me Up Beside The Jukebox” Glad I was not asked to sing or play that one!

  7. I would like to hear the whole song! It aint too bad.

  8. The tune might be a little daunting to some, but frankly, when did it become so much about the tune instead of the message of the song? That should be what counts! I love it!

  9. I love this song for I use to sing it in church till my house burned and lost over 400 acc. tracks. Can I buy the track or a cd of just the music. I have looked every where but can’t find it. ?

  10. I kinda wanna hear the rest of the song it’s kinda addicting!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 150 other followers

